Nothing like a bit of dysentery to remind you where you are!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
September 16th 2011
Published: September 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well If I'd thought I'd escaped significant illness, I'd thought very wrong! Maybe I'd become complacent, maybe I was getting a little too comfortable in my surroundings, maybe my body just couldn't take another curry. Regardless of how it happened, it definitely happened.
We had gone to dinner on thursday night, a relatively dirty place but no less dirty than any other dirty place we'd been to! I'd stuck to my usual dousing hands in hand sanitiser routine, but I guess this time it didn't matter how much hand sanitiser I used, things were about to go pear shaped!
I woke up a few times in the night, stomach cramping, sweat dripping from my forehead, but it didn't seem any different to any other minor bad belly. But by the morning, it hadn't subsided and by then I knew I was in trouble!
By the afternoon, I asked Tess to get me a Dr. I was taken by one of the women that work at Mithra, Sophie, to see a Dr across the road. She found the whole thing quite amusing and continued to laugh and carry on as usual (aren't you supposed to be quiet and speak in hushed tones around sick people?!?). The Dr tried to inject me with what seemed to be a 're-usable' which Tess and Darrel saved me from (I vomited in her garden, that'll show her for trying to use a dirty needle on me) but did give me some medication. I was pretty sure I was on my death bed, and instead of people speaking in the afore mentioned 'there's a sick person in the room, we should be quiet' tones, what seemed to be the whole of Mithra was in my room curious as to what was going on. To ensure everyone was clear, and because there is a language barrier, Darrell proceeded to act out what I was experiencing, much to the amusement of his audience (I still get asked how my stomach is when I walk past Mithra staff now).
I survived in the end and hopefully my stomach is a little more resilient. I certainly am much more paranoid about food! I did also miss out on the wedding (and wearing the sari) because of it all, I was very disappointed but I heard the food was delicious which I wouldn't have been able to eat, so it all worked out ok!
Today, we're packing up in preparation of heading to Nilgiris. We had a pizza party for everyone we have dinner and said goodbye to our Professor. The past 8 weeks have flown by in the blink of an eye. I just hope we are able to meet more lovely, welcoming people in our new homes to come.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb