Just Check For Bomb


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
July 21st 2010
Published: August 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ok, to everyone, I am in India safe and sound. All flights were pretty unremarkable. Although there were a couple incidents where I found myself laughing to myself thinking about some of my fellow travel companions from home. First funny thing was I was flying from DC to Dubai and I sat next to this sweet little Indian guy who was pretty pleasant. It was a 13 hr flight which wasn't as miserable as I was expecting thanks to my travel buddy Ambien. I woke up first and then he did and guess what I said to him? (Sarah knows this) "Wow! You slept a lot!" As soon as the words left my mouth I started laughing (a reference to a trip home from Rome). This guy was probably thinking "ok, lady, you're watching me sleep and now you're laughing at me??"

On the flight from Dubai to Chennai (4 hrs) it was a plane full of Indians. So the only thing showing on the little TVs were Bollywood films. That's fine for maybe 10 minutes but then I found the movie "Date Night" and watched it 3 times! But the movie was so stinkin' hilarious I found myself laughing out loud almost hysterically and pounding my knees like a giddy little kid. Of course I'm the only one on this silent plane that is bursting into these spontaneous eruptions of laughter. The Indian man sitting next to me said, "Madam, I see this movie make you very happy." I said, "Yes, it does." But then I can't help but smile thinking of all the times I've been on silent planes and hear this one person dying laughing and I look around only to realize its my mom. I guess the apple doesn't fall far from the tree.

After landing in Chennai at 3 a.m. I went through passport control where the guy that stamped my passport looked almost mad at me. Well, it was 3 a.m. Anyway, I go to where the luggage comes out and decide to find a restroom. On the quarter mile hike to the potties I pass "airport customer service" and was almost startled to see these three Indian men splayed out on folding chairs with their heads all cocked in the same direction with neck ties tied around their eyes fast asleep. It looked like they'd all just been executed. I wanted to take a picture but didn't want to get in any trouble in my first 15 minutes in India...but the image is forever in my mind and is pretty funny. But I'm thinking "God help me if my luggage doesn't show up and these guys are suppose to help."

The restroom at the airport was a flashback to Lima, Peru. Although this restroom had a pungent urine smell as well. The floor was all wet and of course there's no toilet paper (thank you Rachel for tip on Kleenex!) or soap. At least the toilets flushed--so no problem. I probably waited an anxious 30 minutes for my luggage to finally show up and in the meantime I'm enjoying this unique smell of body odor mixed with urine mixed with garlic....burnt garlic.

I'll continue in a couple minutes...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.284s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 118; dbt: 0.1222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb