The solitary Traveller


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
July 11th 2008
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, My first blog. kindly excise me if mistakes are committed here or if it does not sound interesting.

It was a bright sunday morning around 10 am where i packed my bag having 2 travel magazines(which i keep reading over and again) and started off in my bike too a place and destination i have not planned off.
i headed to thiruvanmiyur just before where the ECR road starts and met my life(Fiance) had a small tussle and embarked on my journey towards ECR. The drive was a bit nice as it was not hot or sultry rather a pleasant climate which made me to be on the drive without a stop. i would have driven some 10 kms whre i found a shop bought some refreshments loaded them onto my bag and headed off again on the empty and pleasant road. There is a stretch of Fir trees on the left towards Pondicherry and massive plots on the other side. The drive was refreshing with sightseeing on one side and few bunch of hooligans dring around like maniacs. I made a point to reach a place where i should not see any tarce of humans or homosapiens wandering around, and found a place. i rode down the steep cemented road and reached a place where i could not drive further down as the beach has started. I parked my bike in a shady place walked towards the beach. There were several boats tied up to the posts which the local fishermen use. i made my myself comfortable on a boat and started reading a magazine. I could see few people from the village who came to have a glimpse of the new comer to their place and one elderly fishermen caught upa conversation with me. From him i learnt how they go fishing what kind of fishes they catch how much profit do they make and lots more. It was about lunch time so gracefully he invited me for lunch which i refused several times politely. Mean while during the course of the conversation we helped 4 fishermen reach the shore by pulling their catamaran to the shore and was watching them sharing the catch(Trust me it was great). Then later my new Friend's Gunasekaran( Thats his name) wife came and invited me for lunch which i could not resist and went to their small house. I have heard several stories where fishermen used to beat up young boys and take away their possesoions, but this invitation was a bit maverick from them and i stepped into their small palace where they offered a place to sit with a mat on the floor. they served me Porridge and salt fish which i gulped down immediately as it was so yummy!!(it really was). Then i thanked them for the sumptuous meal they offered and went out on a trail to collect the shells which were embedded in the golden sands. i got a helping hand from my freind who i started calling Guna by now , and packed a bagful of shells and corals to gift my girl. After the long walk and restless collection of shells we rested under a shady place before i started off to my way back home.
The journey was refreshing and rejuvenating as i was free from the hassles and blues of the City and enjoyed serenity and peace. Planning to take off on another trip very soon to recharge myself for the hectic week ahead. Keep you posted.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb