Greetings from Auroville


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Auroville
June 8th 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Wrong call - indian style 30 secs
2: My yoga peacock 30 secs
Cabana viewCabana viewCabana view

from my porch...
Vanakam. Sak yama? (Hello, how are you? In tamil - the language of the south)

So i'm going into my 1st week of Auroville - the conceptual town that the Mother has created - with the foundation that everyone works/thinks as a collective whole w/no ownership, & not as separate people from different countries. It's been very, what's the word, interesting. Meeting ppl who have lived in this town from 30 years +. And it's really cool to hear the blood, sweat, & tears that went into building this town - as when it was first being settled, this region of tamil nadu was virtually turning into a desert. There were forests before, but b/c it is so flat & dry, it quickly dried up. And eventually, only the poorest of poor lived in this area - trekking water from the beach. Here's the link - enjoy...http://www.auroville.org/index.htm

Anyway, I'm staying in a small beach cabana right by the beach & have successfully learned how to ride a scooter - & lemme tell you - it is AWESOME! Long stretches of backroads w/no helmet, traffic lights & no cows to inhibit one! =) woohoo! I know - i learned to
my 1st papaya my 1st papaya my 1st papaya

in the south. & it's organic from a farm in auroville!
ride a scooter in india - what a paradox. I met a charming aurovillian who is going to teach me how to properly ride a motorcycle. (Watch out chinese ppl!!!)

It's been such an culturual acclemation - from north india to the south. I was basking & swimming in spirituality & my simple, yet rich life in rishikesh to absolute chill out vibe & a new language in auroville. I'm just now getting used to doing nothing...but I start helping out in a kitchen tomo - so I'll be picking up some cooking skills - chapatis, dal, yum yum yum. watch out.

Well, I'm off. I'm exhausted. gonna grab dinner & then head back to my cabana & finish shantaram. I've also printed out my chinese school application...actually looking forward to going back to taiwan. All of you are in my thoughts & in my heart. I miss you all....



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Gino & LorenzoGino & Lorenzo
Gino & Lorenzo

shared the papayas w/sky & i.
Me & my bikeMe & my bike
Me & my bike

Bad-A*s! me & the bike next to the rose bush I plowed thru on the 1st day.


9th June 2008

too much fun
Jen, it's a trip following your trip. What fun. You're an amazing person to be able to adapt to and enjoy so many different lifestyles. I'm in awe. Love, Lynn
20th June 2008

awesome!
i can't believe you're still there. i'm in awe....
31st July 2008

You are CRAZY
I am so proud of you. You ROCK. love b

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb