Gangtok


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Sikkim » Gangtok
May 27th 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in Gangtok yesterday where I could finally get some more money changed, I had to borrow a bit in Pelling as there was no money changer. Its a much larger city here, pretty touristy but not bad, the weather is a little better, I saw some snow covered peaks today, I guess the Kanchendzonga range, which I think is the same thing as Kanchenjunga but maybe in a different language? I dunno though.

Pelling was nice, a good challenging trek to the Lake and then to another little town near there. The second day reminded me of Mt. Mitchell because it was so steep, I think maybe more steep than that trail but much shorter, probably climbed at least 2000 ft though. It was a little rough because the first day we got caught in the rain for like 2 and a half hours and I got a cold. I feel much better now but my nose is still running like crazy.

We we be leaving with some more people we met in our hotel tomorrow for a 3 night 4 day jeep trip into North Sikkim which sounds pretty amazing. It turns out to be less than 20 dollars a day including food and accommodation so its cost effective, but i think ends up being a little longer than I was planning to stay here, oh well. I couldn't get a train ticket today because it is a holiday. I will go before we leave tomorrow to try and book a train on Sunday to Varanasi and the a couple of days later to Rishikesh or Haridwar.

Everyone I meet who is traveling seems to be older than me, at least 25 or so for the most part. Maybe its just a coincidence or maybe people don't usually travel as much that are younger. Oh well, the age difference doesn't bother me, I've met some very interesting people. Its crazy how some of them have been traveling in foreign countries for three years straight. It'd be cool to have that kind of freedom.

Laura, i was wondering how your festival was going, or if it has already passed, how it went, I don't know if you ever got my e-mail but its dhodo@clemson.edu, don't know if thats listed on here or what, but I'd love to hear about it, so send me an e-mail.

Advertisement



28th May 2008

India?
Just found your blog. Hope your trip is going well! I'm going to be back in the states from June 15th through July 29th but am going to be returning to Argentina to study through the following December. Por eso, I think we might should skip the California trip and instead try to plan some sort of Patagonia adventure in December. Hope your travels are going well! See you in July!
28th May 2008

Did you get my first two Messages on here?
Sounds like you're having an awesome time - I'm more than happy for you!!! The festival was a few days ago - it went allright. The first day I didn't realy know what I was doing, the second day was great, and the third day was really cold and rainy. I have to go to work now, but did the private messages I sent before work? I see it says 1 message waiting approval, but I thought I was supposed to get some confirmation after I sent them to you, and I never did? Anyway, keep on with your adventures, and relaxing, and meeting new people. LOVE, Laura
29th May 2008

Sounds like fun..
What up cuz, Sounds like your having a great time. My parents read your blog with me and when it said that you were going to take meditation and yoga classes, Mom almost fell over. Hope all is well. You better get me a gift or I'll beat your traveling ass when you get back. Stay safe, and remember what Indiana Jones says about German girls. Iron Man was SICK!! Zach

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb