Day 31- Jaipur, The pink city-Hawa Palace and Amber Fort


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan
August 19th 2015
Published: August 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 31- Jaipur, The pink city

Up and about with the birds this morning. Showered and sorted. Feeling much better after my hangover; ready to start again... Lol

I went over to reception to get yesterday's blog uploaded. I am having a problem with no internet, hopefully Anu will help me get some on my phone today.

Anna and I went for breakfast, hmmm, bran flakes, that's a refreshing change! After breakfast,we took our tea outside and relaxed before setting off for a busy day.

We set off at 8am for Hawa Palace and Amber Fort. I have been to both places before, bit looking forward to being reminded of their beauty!

First stop is Hawa Palace, yes, just as I remember it. Then we jumped back into the car to go to Amber Fort. I know I've been before, but I had forgotten how beautiful it is!

I had got the forts mixed up in my head, which fort is which, so when we arrived there it was a really nice surprise for me.

And yes, all memories of that day came flooding back to me. I looked over and recognised Rakesh, he was our guide there last year. I couldn't help myself, I popped over and said hello. I don't think he remembered me though... Ha ha

We went from the summer palace, round to the winter palace. It is still just as beautiful with all its mirrored walls and ornate decorations... Still breathtaking to look at. I can't imagine how going to feel at the Taj Mahal when I go there again.... Excited!
And then to finish the visit there.... Coffee Day Coffee.... Agh, lovely, then I thought about my last trip again, I looked over the wall where Patrick stood, he passed a very funny comment about pigs, we were all in stitches, laughing at his weird sense of humour. I had such a good feeling fie myself.

In the way back to the hotel we stopped off for lunch, only a snack for me. We bumped into the larger G group that seem to be everywhere we are at the moment. They are travelling with CP, he was also at our roof top night earlier in the week.

We then head back to the hotel for free time.

All four of us went out for a walk. We went up into the old city; we walked up to the end where we watched the parade yesterday, then crossed over the road and walked back through the spice market. When we got back I caught up with my blog, then went for a swim in the pool. There were lots of dead ants on the top, but it was still worth the effort!

I thought the swim would be good for my arm, as its really aching today. After the first minutes of breaststroke, I thought a bit of crawl would be good. On the first over arm stroke, I pulled out my new gold earring! Straight down to the bottom of the pool it went! Hmmm.... I had to keep diving down to try to find it. Lisa was standing at the edge, also trying to find it, after a few dives, yes, I got it!

After swimming I finally washed my hair. I hate doing it, but it just has to be done! So hair washed and a shower. We're meeting Anu at six, so I am good and ready to go.

We have a chat about what's happening later, then off we go to the cinema. It's the same cinema as last time. So I know I'm on for a great experience again.

I certainly wasn't disappointed! But, you wouldn't believe it..... CP and his group turned up again, yes, he's definitely following us around. Ha ha

We went to watch Brothers; it's an Indian remake of the film, Warriors. The film was amazing, but I cried so much, then laughed, then cried, then cheered and clapped, then really cried! OMG ... I loved it!

After the film we had a choice of where to eat. The choices were, at a regular nice restaurant, or in a garage yard where they mend vintage cars! Well, where's the choice? Obviously we opted for the garage! And yes, it really is a fully functioning outdoor garage by day, then on a night they put chairs and tables out! The main foods available was kebabs. I had a chicken kebab in a roll. We all loved the food, and the restaurant choice! Good job Anu!

We returned to the hotel, has a bit of a chat, a beer, then bed.... Oh, and Anu got fraped! another early day tomorrow.







Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb