Rajasthan - The Desert State


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan
November 25th 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the 20th of November Mum and I took a train to Jaipur, in the desert state of Rajasthan, while we were in Jaipur Mum was very sick. Jaipur is the pink city of Rajasthan, while we were there I got to feed monkeys with my hands. On the 21st of November we caught an overnight train to Jaisalmer, which is the golden city. We visit the fort, which is the oldest living fort in the world, with 20,000 people living inside. At the fort we took an audio tour of the palace. In Jaisalmer we had a camel safari in the desert, we saw the sand dunes at sunset, I played in them which was fun, in the big ones when you were in the middle your feet would sink, it was hard getting back up them, in the morning we took another camel ride to our jeep, I drove the camel most of the way, which was fun.
We left Jaisalmer to Jodphur by bus. Jodphur is the blue city. When we were there we visit palaces, the fort, and a local market with an old clocktower.
We stayed at a lovely local guesthouse, called Sun City Guesthouse, they were very nice, I played a lot with their youngest son, who was 8, they gave us chocolates, and Chai, and they said they would invite us to their weddings, or their cousin's weddings, at the moment it is wedding season, and we saw lots of weddings around, some even with lots of fireworks. I said "when I get marrioed, I want to get married in Rajasthan".


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb