I've left the Pink City for Venice


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Udaipur
January 20th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On the road again, I'm on the road again.

After spending the past fews days in Jaipur (without easy internet access) I am now in Udaipur. Jaipur is the "Pink City" and Udaipur is the Venice of India.

We left the hotel around 9am today and arrived around 5:30pm. There were pretty fields with lush greens, palm trees, barren landscapes, and mountains. Toss in a few towns and a few traffic jams that make me yearn for Chinese drivers and you have my day.

Last night we had cocktails at our hotel with some other travelers. Found out they were from Minnesota. From Minneapolis. Les than a mile from where I used to live. What are the odds I'd meet THEM in India? We had vodka with mango nectar and sat outside under the moon, taking in the fresh air.

Tomorrow promises to be a full day. If it's anything like our adventures in Jaipur, it will be. I've decided that hiring a driver was the best move we made. If we need something, we say the word and it appears. Internet--done. Plug adaptor--done. Movie tickets--done. And for the last two we didn't even have to get out of the car.

I have internet at my hotel now, so hopefully I'll be able to do some writing. I didn't bring a notebook, since the orginal plan involved hostels with internet. And I'm giong through withdrawal. My love of writing is back. I want to talk about this place. To share it. There are parts that I don't care for and parts that just astound me and make me smile.

But don't worry, I'm taking notes on scraps of paper for later. Between them and my excessive picture taking, you're in for a treat when I get back.



Advertisement



20th January 2009

It's a small world after all...Minnesota to India...amazing. I am so excited to read your reflections and see your pictures! Have a wonderful time my friend! Love and hugs!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb