Ranthambhore National Park


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finally, internet access and tv!!!

We arrived at our hotel, Khem Villas, around noon... just in time for lunch. I knew we would be having vegetarian for the next 3 days so I wasn't thinking our food would be good but it was so amazing! My gosh, the hotel, grows their own vegetables and herbs so everything we ate is grown here... so fresh! 18 days in India and I was starting to feel homesick for some Korean food but now, I think I'm okay. The spiced potatoes w/ some peppers was made to perfection, all it needed was some anchovies and it would be like a Korean side dish *forget the name of it*, the shredded carrots w/ cabbage, black pepper and curry is also very similar to a Korean side dishes, my favorite is the pumpkin dishes. Who said people lose weight in India? We've been eating real yummy and tasty food that even with all the walking around, I still managed to gain weight... a lot! Good thing the clothes I brought w/ me were already big to begin with. To me, the food makes up for no tv and internet here... Nick, on the other hand cannot live w/o internet so he's on his crackberry.... well, what do you know, he's on it right now.

June 9 - day 23

We're not here at Ranthambhore National Park for food but for the safaris. We went on 4 safaris and 1 more to go and saw so many wildlife... not as much as I would have liked but we did get real close to some tigers. I guess we were really lucky... the other people we were talking to said they were here four years ago and went on 6 safaris but didn't see any tigers. I thought it was funny when the tiger was walking towards us, the man in our jeep filming the tiger, hand's started to shake vigorously. Another girl was trying to squeeze to the other side of the jeep but there was no place to go. I must admit, it was a bit unnerving to be 6 feet from the tiger w/o any protection but we assumed that the tiger prefers local food so it was a good thing we had some Indian nationals in our jeep, the tiger wouldn't like white meat or Korean food. 😉 Just a side note, if you have butt problems, avoid the safaris, I've been jostled around the jeep, my whole left side is all black and blue from the bumpy ride.

June 10 - day 24

We have 1 more safari to go on and then we leave tomorrow morning for our last 2 destinations. We unfortunately have to cut our trip short bc Nick's business trip has been pushed up. What a bummer!



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Peacock mating dance
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

tiger 1
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

tiger 2


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb