Pushkar Fair: Retail Therapy


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
November 6th 2016
Published: November 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

There are few things as intoxicating as the swirl of a busy bustling market. It is a true assault of the senses from the sparkle of the lights to the aroma of the exotic culinary delights to the constant hum of people shuffling past. There is an excitement, an energy, a pulse that is felt while wandering the endless alleys filled with stall of goods. And Pushkar will not disappoint.

The market around the sacred Pushkar Lake is crowded with pilgrims, hippies and people like us who are in town for the fair. The market is also crowded with mopeds,dogs and the sacred cattle. There is endless shopping possibilities for foreign and local guests alike.

As you know, Kyle loves to come to India for more than just the culture, the sights and the food. Kyle also loves India because he has a suit guy. Kyle found a tailor that apparently makes some of the best suits in the world. He offers the fabrics Kyle wants and he makes suits that fit Kyle's particular taste.

Good for Kyle. I am happy to announce, I now have a "guy" in India too. A ring guy.

Last time we were in Pushkar I happened upon one of the greatest jewelry shops for big (really big) silver rings. He was set up in a temporary shop for the Festival, a "pop-up" shop if you will. But when he realized my appreciation for his work, he offered to take us to his main workshop. Yes, this meant even MORE rings.

I did some serious shopping there and have loved the rings ever since. That was 4 years ago. About a year or so ago, I dropped one of my favorite rings from that purchase. It fell down two flights of stairs and the stone shattered. I took it to my jeweler in Manhattan and they attempted to replace the stone, but the cost of the stone alone was close to the cost of a plane ticket to India, so I passed. I saved the ring on the slim chance I would return to Pushkar and on the unlikely chance I could find his workshop in the maze of the market.

To my great surprise, dad and I accepted the challenge of finding his shop and did not take one wrong turn. Just when I was thinking he was not longer there, we walked a few steps more and there he was! My ring guy!

I showed him my broken ring and not only did he fit it with a new stone, he did not even charge me for the new stone. I told him I was in the market for some more fantastically wonderful rings and he said those magic words you always want to hear..."we have expanded since you were here last. Let me take you to our larger shop."

Dad and I walked upstairs. We opened two doors and when I saw what was inside that room, I swear I heard angels singing. Ceiling to floor, wall to wall jewelry. Racks of jewelry. Bins of jewelry. Cases of jewelry. In other words, we had walked into heaven.

I never ask Kyle how much it costs to have a suit guy in Delhi and I hope he never asks me how much it costs to have a ring guy in Pushkar!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Did I Mention I Have a Camel Blanket Guy too?Did I Mention I Have a Camel Blanket Guy too?
Did I Mention I Have a Camel Blanket Guy too?

Seriously, we met on Facebook via a page for Camel lovers. I ordered two blankets and he made them for me before we arrived in Pushkar. They are gorgeous!


10th November 2016

Ring guy
Sounds like things are going wonderfully. So cool he replaced the stone on your ring. I'm betting it ended up being worth his while anyway ;)
10th November 2016

Ring guy
Sounds like things are going wonderfully. So cool he replaced the stone on your ring. I'm betting it ended up being worth his while anyway ;)
10th November 2016

Ring guy
Sounds like things are going wonderfully. So cool he replaced the stone on your ring. I'm betting it ended up being worth his while anyway ;)
12th November 2016

Retail Therapy
Shopping always cures all that ails.
12th November 2016

How do you choose?
I mean, seriously. At least the rings are not hard to pack! But those textiles!

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 132; dbt: 0.1653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb