pushkar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello after my 21 hour train journey we finally arrived in pushkar a sacred town the same as hampi. The main feature of pushkar is a big lake surrounded by what they call ghats which is basically a little temple next to part of the lake. We went to most of the ghats including one where Gandhi had his ashes spread, the priest’s at the ghat perform some sort of religious ceremony with you were you repeat what he says, he basically blessed my family and my self that I will live for a long time, have good karma, and a good job with which you pay what ever you feel like paying, I didn’t pay much because I explained to him that if I pay a lot I would be sad and that would bring me bad karma, the priest then reluctantly excepted my ten rupees.

The guest house we are staying in is one of the best ones yet, the staff are really good met some interesting people. The rooms are really nice at the guest house and we also have a swimming pool which is a nice luxury considering pushkar is very near the desert and it is very hot. All these great things at the guest house was a bargain as well 1 pound 25 pence per night per person, we could of got a cheaper room but we decided to treat our self’s to a room with a TV.

One of the really great things we done on our visit to pushkar was a 2 hour camel ride in the desert. My camel was quite young it was like a stroppy teenager so the first part of the ride was quite scary but once he had a little rest he was ok, during are rest we met some local Indian gypsy’s who lived in the desert. The king of the gypsy’s came over with an instrument that he had made and played us a jolly tune whilst we relaxed. After the camels had their rest we carried on to see some great views of a sunset which I have some good pictures of.

Most of the evenings where spent playing cards with other people staying at the guest house, one of the nights we decided to go for a swim but me and mika soon decided to get out when we discovered bats swooping down to the swimming pool to grab a drink, one bat actually misjudge his swoop and was left drowning in the water but luckily for him jay was on the scene to fish him out with a pool net yet again rewarding myself with good karma.

The next destination is Delhi, I feel we won’t be staying here long as we haven’t enjoyed cities much but we need to spend time here because we need to get our Vietnam visa, really had a good time in pushkar but with it being a sacred place there is no meat or eggs so I basically haven’t eaten meat for 6 day’s which has been tuff. I don’t know how vegetarians do it I am surprised there not all dead.

Really looking forward to eating some chicken!

Speak soon jay



Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

jays; pictures of pushkar 011jays; pictures of pushkar 011
jays; pictures of pushkar 011

saddu, the white dust on his face our humas bone dust
jays; pictures of pushkar 012jays; pictures of pushkar 012
jays; pictures of pushkar 012

me in my idian clothing i bought in mumbai
jays; pictures of pushkar 013jays; pictures of pushkar 013
jays; pictures of pushkar 013

me and mika after our priest gave a ceromony


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0817s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb