Neemrana Diaries (Zip Ride adventure-August 2011)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Neemrana
August 22nd 2011
Published: March 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We kicked off our journey, from the National Highway 8 (New Delhi). I started enjoying the ride once we left the city behind us. There was greenery on both sides of the highway; vegetation, lush green fields and trees at different places. Living in the city, where one is used to seeing high rise buildings and crowded roads; this view came as a refreshing break. So, although it was very hot on the road, this view made the ride enjoyable.

We stopped in the middle to ensure that we were going the right way. The people spoke Hindi in a different accent and I could tell that we were in a different state.

After a little more than two hours we were at Flying Fox Neemrana.

The view from the fort was beautiful; I could see trees and mountains of the Aravalli range at a far off distance.

At the office for the zip line tour, the instructor asked me 'So, you have come all the way from Delhi, riding on a bike ?'

'Yes

'Okay. So, two adventures in one day, eh ?

A few hours later, it was time for the zip adventure.

We had two instructors. They were very particular about harnessing us up all well and telling us exactly what to do and how to do it.

We then started our trek to the top of the mountains. I was low on carbs and the hot weather at that time of the day, made things even worse. But I completed the trek, nonetheless.

After a small practice session, it was time for the zip ride. 'The ride of your life' as they call it. I decided to go first as all the others were a bit reluctant.

The instructor went, 'Hand up there, thumb up, feet together, knees up, lean back and Go!'

It was indeed the ride of my life. I was sliding while hanging on to the wire. I could see the trees and smaller mountains below me. With the breeze hitting my face, I felt that I was flying like a bird.

After four more zimilar zip rides on different mountains with different views, our adventure was over.

When our instructor did the ride in the end, he freed his arms and legs and did some weird acrobatics. Then he said 'always follow your instructions, but never follow your instructor'.

We hit the highway again and around three hours later, I was back in Gurgaon. My adventure was over and I had to be at work the next day.

Advertisement



11th March 2012

Awesome... Next trip will be with me...
This is awesome AJ. Just waiting for the right time when I get to enjoy the view and feel the excitement first hand. Bravo..!!!
17th March 2012

Great Excursion Dude...On A Bike....
Great trip Arjun....that zip ride must have been a very thrilling one..... I love it.....

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb