Hello!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Nawalgarh
March 14th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone! It's been awhile since I've been on here! It's been harder to get to an internet connection because Nawalgarh is a small town and I've been their the last several days. I am headed to Hardiwar though the day after tomorrow via Delhi which I'm taking a bus with a lady I met!! Yay! I'm so happy I met another woman she's great! In her late fifties...also a libra! yay! and traveling solo. She's from New Zealand. We part ways in Delhi bc she's headed to Kerala.
Hardiwar is where all the ashrams stays are.....yes Jen this is where I go to the quiet place!
So I miss EVERYONE! I got really homesick the other day for the first time. I realized I think how far I am from everything I'm used to and everyone I love. It became apparent to me that I'm not just a hop skip and a jump away. I miss my dad so much I wanna hear about his trip. I miss my sister's and nieces I want to pick them up and give them a squeeze. I miss my girls Jasmine, Amy, and Catie....I want to sip on some wine and catch up with big mamma! awww girllllll Jen's great she keeps track of how many days it's been since I logged on if it's more then three I get an email....hahaha! I love that about her. I miss Ms. Byrne's rosy red cheeks and great laugh! Ugh..I miss you all. I want Yani to come and see all this.
About me I gave myself a haircut today! I'm real proud. Jasmine you'd be really proud....Amy my haircutting has gotten better. hehe...To sooth my homesickness I found a subway! ha! I sat there an hour really happy and had a moment to forget all the begging, poverty, heat, starring, and cows that waited outside for me. After about an hour I was recharged and ready to go again but it was a nice break.
Nawalgarh was really great! I stayed at a guesthouse run by Pinky and Bunty! They were great. All there family lived there and was super sweet. Pinky is one of the first indian women I've had a long conversation with because she actually spoke english. It was wonderful! I really miss female companionship here. I spent all my time with her in the kitchen watching and helping her cook the BEST indian food I've had here thus far. She also had a lot of fun dressing me up in her clothing. I've got pictures of me in traditional rajasthan rajput dress! I will post later.
I also met a small boy Sahrukh while staying there. He's a beautiful small boy who's fifteen but looks about eight years old. He made my heart melt. I found out that his mother and father already passed away and he's been shuffled around and now lives with his uncle. He makes him work everyday and doesn't even get Sundays off. For all this he is paid 400rp a month. To give you an idea this is about $8 a month. A fair wage would be more like 15000 rp a month for the work he does. Which is still about $300. I was going to give him some money but then they told me his family would just take it from him. I took him shopping instead. He was so adorable. He was so happy and if only he knew how happy that made me in return. He picked out new jeans, tshirt, and shoes. I am going to try and figure something out for him... I'd like to send him away to school if possible. His life is difficult more difficult then any child deserves. Childhood is the only time that we are allowed to be carefree and that's already been stolen from him. His childhood is not worryfree and I think that's also why he's so little and so thin...you can see in his eyes that he's suffered a lot.



Advertisement



14th March 2007

Hi Sandra- I was thinking about you yesterday and wondered if you were feeling homesick. We were in New Braunsfels this past weekend and I was thinking of all the times I visited you in Austin. Remembering how warm and cozy your place was, hiking the creek, hanging out at Whole Foods, and sharing wine with my favorite ladies. :) I miss you San!
16th March 2007

Hey Sandra, Beautiful posting sweetie! I am so happy to hear you are safe and enjoying your trip. Keep the posts coming. Miss you. C

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0914s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb