An uploading experience


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
December 9th 2005
Published: December 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Singhvi's Haveli seems to have a significantly higher foreigner density than the other places I've stayed, so having interaction with other travellers has not been a problem, though I was quite distracted at breakfast by a troop of monkeys that were bouncing, climbing, and generally frolicing on an adjacent house's washing lines.

I went for a walk after breakfast, to try to get my bearings, and ended up hopelessly lost, due to having it fixed in my head that the hotel is to the east of Mehrangarh Fort, despite knowing full well that it's to the west. It was more by luck than navigation that I ended up at the Clock Tower, which is in the centre of town and tends to be the reference point for any directions that people give. The markets here are not as aggressive as previous places, and it was possible to just wander around and take in the sights. I'm not sure if I'm just seeing too many markets though, as they're all beginning to look the same.

Apart from the Fort, which towers over the city, the other USP of Jodhpur is hinted at by its nickname "the Blue City". Many houses
PigeonsPigeonsPigeons

Possibly the guilty party
here are painted bright blue, which supposedly is due to some chemical wash that deters pests. Whether that's true or not, it gives them a startling appearance, which looks almost Mediterranean. There are also some greens and oranges for variety.

I also stumbled upon my first broadband Internet cafe, and spent many hours uploading photos from the last few days - so many, in fact, that I incurred an extra charge due to the sheer quantity of data I was shifting. I think I need to track down some sort of compression utility to put on CD and carry around with me, as adding photos to the blog is a significant time overhead.

Walking home in the evening, I received a gift from above, in the shape of a large, moist dollop of pigeon excrement, on my right shoulder. Though I had tissues to wipe it off, it was clear that my T-shirt would have to pay a visit to the dhobi-wallah. Strangely, mirroring a previous seating problem after I saw the white rat at Deshnok, there was no room in the comfortable cushioned area of the terrace at the hotel, and I was forced to sit at one of the (uncomfortable) tables.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



11th December 2005

enjoying the blog
I am enjoying the photos of Jodhpur (city I've lived in), boy is it growing as a place! Is the great big crocodile still in the zoo in the city park?
14th December 2005

Re: CEH: enjoying the blog
Unfortunately I didn't get to the zoo, so I'm not sure about the well-being of the crocodile, but I can assure you that the pigeon population is alive and kicking.

Tot: 0.7s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 34; qc: 157; dbt: 0.5387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb