The Pink City


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
October 14th 2010
Published: October 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Jaipur is dusty, dirty, Indian awesomeness. I would equate life here to an Indian version of a Wilbur Smith novel or an Indiana Jones film; it’s like stepping into another era. The roads are congested with bicycle pull carts, donkey pull carts, men pulling carts, motorcycles, rickshaws, a scattering of camels and elephants, amber colored archways, colorful markets and even more colorful people. It’s also a very hot place to be. We were smudged and slick with sweat the minute we walked out the door (India is not the place to be fabulous). Even with the heat, we were in the mood to walk and see what would happen that wouldn’t happen if we ran from hotel door to car door to destination door. On the down side, one of our happenings included being inappropriately groped by grinning 5-year old slum boys and growled at by slum dogs that had never seen white people and didn’t like what they saw. On the upside, we accidently wandered into a rectal research facility that looked like an old historical government building (nothing like a free tour).

After we decided our wanderings were taking us to new experiences we weren’t quite ready for, we jumped in a rickshaw and were driven about by a young Hindu guy who should have been facing the road, but was instead much more interested in giving us our own personalized chakra readings. Holly was told her throat chakra was out of wack and proceeded to lose her voice a few days later. Sara was told to lay off the milk and I was told that I have good energy. I was feeling pretty pleased about his analysis until I ended up with a bad cold that very same night. Not only had he completely misdiagnosed my chakras but I didn’t even have a full day to relish in my newfound positive energy! I am sure good energy doesn’t always imply good health, but seriously chakra reader/ rickshaw driver, you could have at least given me a heads up on my upcoming illness.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Our RoomOur Room
Our Room

Can't beat 400rs a night ($8)!
So insightful:) So insightful:)
So insightful:)

Apparently if I don't work out I'll pack on the pounds.
Happy Hour Happy Hour
Happy Hour

Rooftop restaurant/bar at hotel
Supastar Supastar
Supastar

Love this pic! Hate harem pants!
Resting Resting
Resting

Just got out of the Shila Devi temple where a man smeared a powdered bindi on my forehead and put flowers around my neck. Hindus are so inclusive!
English Garden English Garden
English Garden

Amber Fort


26th November 2010

Nice Blog
Nice Blog! I see that your blog is about travel. I want to share some info with you. Citymedia foundation(http://citymediafoundation.org) has launched www.city.vi , a network of 68,000 city specific video sites, where you can share videos about cities and regions across the world. like for Paris videos you can visit http://Paris.vi . You can also find out about other cities that you are interested in. Hope to see you there. suparnadilip@gmail.com www.city.vi

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb