Downtime in Jaipur


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaipur
December 14th 2005
Published: December 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My throat had showed little improvement from yesterday so today was designated an admin day. The India Railway website was running at a crawl, so I was unable to figure out the best train from Delhi to Amritsar, but I did get the name and the number of the train I want from Jaipur to Delhi. It's another early start - 5AM - but still preferable to an overnighter.

At the station, I had to queue at the Foreigners, Handicapped, Freedom Fighters, Senior Citizens, Journalists, and MPs/MLAs counter. There were representatives of at least 3 of those categories in the queue.

Lunch was taken at the hotel. Due to there only being one Indian dish on the menu (the veg thali I had last night), for variety's sake I picked out a cheese penne from the Italian section. On returning to my room, I found out another good thing about this hotel - while I was at the station, they had cleaned my room and provided me with a fresh toilet roll (though an Indian toilet roll only has about 20 sheets on it, which I can almost get through just by blowing my nose in the morning).
My room at the Hotel AtithiMy room at the Hotel AtithiMy room at the Hotel Atithi

The best yet, with a large part of that award due to the steaming shower

Slept in the afternoon then had a cheese and tomato sandwich for dinner. When you are ill, the mysterious and exotic East can seem a million miles away, even when it is right outside your door.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 28; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb