Adventure before Dementia India 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Chittorgarh
March 14th 2012
Published: March 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

05.00 Hours Tuesday 13 March



Up before dawn to catch the train to Chittorgarh. Take a rick to the station and check the train platform, everybody is walking across the track but I decide to use the footbridge. I buy some chai on the platform and dip my cinnamon roll into it that I brought last night . Taste’s good. I am in AC chair and it’s ok.



Not long before the trains leaves I am joined by a fellow English traveller. Chris is in India for a month and on his way to Shimla. That’s a fair old way up in the mountains to the north. Shimla was the British retreat when the summer in Delhi got too hot for them. That's why it looks like an English town. Like somewhere in Cheshire it's said.



We chat throughout the train journey and the time passes quite quickly. Then we get round to where we are from.



Chris doesn’t have much of an accent so it’s hard to tell .



I am from Blickling in Norfolk he says. I smile and tell him I am from Yarmouth.



We have a bit of a laugh.



The train arrives at Chittorgarh and I say goodbye, take a few photo’s and go on my way.



Over to the main platform to find the luggage lockup.



Chittorgarh fort is 5k from the station and when I get there it’s 5k long and 1k across. In total it’s about 13k around and I only have about 6 hours before the next train to Bundi



So no way to hump the ruckie that far. The lockup is empty so I go to find the office man when he finds me.



10 rups for 24 hours for the ruckie and of course we have to fill in a form that takes a while and stamp, put a copy on the bag and give a copy to me. In the bag goes and the key to lock the door is as big as the door.



To do the fort I will need to hire a rick as it’s too steep and to far to walk in the time I have got.



Rickie driver wants 400 rups to take me to the fort, take me round then drop me.
We settle on 350 to the fort, round the fort and back to the station. Not bad for 5 hours.



Off we go and soon arrive at the very imposing fort. There are 6 pols (gates) before you actually enter the fort. Most of the gates are on u bends. This was to stop elephants battering down the gates. The elephants would get up a head of steam and as they approached the gate would have to do a sharp right hand turn and that would slow them down . So that they did have the power to break the gate.

Makes you wonder what size Anadin a elephant takes.



I spend the hours tramping round the fort.



At one of the tanks there is a Shiva Temple. A talik is the red spot that you see Indians have in the middle of there forehead. I was surprised that I had got this far without one.

The women with the dye was not to be put off and bang I was done. And done for 20 rups.



I take lots photos of the fort then it’s time for lunch before heading back to the station.

Pleased I went out of my way as the fort was impressive.


Additional photos below
Photos: 69, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



14th March 2012

Hi Paul
Hi Paul, it's good to catch up with you and get a flavour of your trip via the diary and pics. Glad you are enjoying yourself. Some news from back home: Kevin and Kerri are expecting their first baby in September, I'm going to be a Nanna. Yippee!! 'Bye for now. Take care. Val :) x
14th March 2012

Looks fantastic Papa. How much are you paying the fella who's following you around India taking your picture everywhere? When you get to Kolkata take some great photos of Mother's House and the Victoria Memorial. Ta.
14th March 2012
P1020909

What are the ladies doing, they seem very relaxed and happy!
14th March 2012
P1020912

Hosepipe ban!
I take it Anglian Water isn't in charge here, especially as we now have a hosepipe ban!
14th March 2012
Redundant Drummer Somewhere

Maddy
Do you think this one could be for Maddy?
15th March 2012

Chai
Hi Paul I start the day with a pot of Chai and your blog - the photos are amazing ! Lots of love Pat Ps I lied about the Chai - can't stand the stuff it's Ceylon for me first thing

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb