Adventure before Dementia India 2012


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bundi
March 15th 2012
Published: March 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

07.00 Hours Thursday 15 March



The last thing I did yesterday before the tiredness got the better of me was sort my bus ticket out for the trip to Jaipur.



I need to leave Bundi early Friday morning as it is another 6 hours ride.



As I am on the way back to the Shivam I stop to use the internet and chat to the owner John. I spot a small handmade map and it is of a trip he does. I wanted to get out of the town and it looked like a chance to see a bit of the countryside. 600 Rups for 4 hours is ok soam in.



I take a photo of John on the bike and off we go. We travel north of Bundi and stop at a potters house. They make water pots and it’s a bit basic. On to a small village and stop and have some chai. On again and another stop at a very small potters house. A further drive and stop at what we would know as a smallholding and a very small one at that.



They grow a bit of wheat in the dry season and rice in the wet. Some vegetables and cattle feed.



The woman makes chai and chapattis on a wood stove.



It’s onward to a very old Shiva temple at the end of a valley and another steep climb.



Back towards Bundi we stop at a hunting lodge that Rudyard Kipling stayed for a few days.



A nice morning and I even got some video from the back of the bike. Will try to load it later.



Bad news on the bus front . No sleeper/Tourist bus so I will have to give the state bus a go at 06.10 in the morning. It will be a tough ride as the the state bus takes everybody and everything!!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb