Baijaipur Castle...it's amazing!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bassi
April 6th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Group shot Group shot Group shot

Taken on our "village safari". Tom, Donna, Bonnie, Brian, Jen, Nitin, Shauna, Robyn, Le-ann, Craig, Rachel, Mel, David.
I'm all by myself
Castle stay in my own room
Great chill out spaces.

We had an early morning start where we had to catch a train. We made it to the station with plenty of time to spare. Nothing too exciting other than some stray dogs that were getting frisky. At one point Mel, Shauna, Brian and I were playing Eye Spy to pass the time! Then I don't know how the conversation started but Brian stated talking to this Indian guy and his daughter. Then at one point the Indian guy points to Brian and then to me..."is that your daughter?" LOL So of course it became a running joke that Brian is my dad and Shauna my mum. Amazing since I'm almost two years older than the two of them! LOL

We didn't have assigned seating on the train so it was basically everyone for themselves in the hard sleeper section of the train. Robyn, Rachel, myself and then Mum and Dad all sat in one section. Then Nitin came along and pulled out the UNO cards. It sure did help to pass the time!

After the train ride we went on a jeep ride where we jumped off once to visit the local bidi (natural cigarettes) maker and the wooden toy maker. Then it was back onto the jeep and onward to Bijaipur Castle. My turn again to have my own room. It was awesome. Mind you there were these two wooden dolls/mannequins that I didn't really pay much attention to until night time when they became a little creepy!

The castle had a lot of nice chill out spaces and chair swings...when I get my own house I will need to have a porch so I can have a porch swing AND a hammock! Of course the pool was great for cooling down too. Mind you I didn't get into the pool! lol The heat just made me tired so I didn't really do much. Just sat poolside after running really fast across the super hot pavement. Now who would have thought it’d be so hot out there?? I’m surprised I didn’t get blisters, it felt that hot! A couple of local girls came by to do mendhi (henna) on some peoples hands but I opted not to do it. Thought I'd want to scratch it off right away!

Later in the afternoon we went on a village "safari". We were in three jeeps..me with my parents, Rachael and Robyn. I think I've been to a village in every country I've visited so far and was beginning to not really appreciate the village safari so much. One "highlight" was when Brian got the bright idea to put these pea like things that they stopped the jeeps to especially show to us onto the back spare tire and it was amazing how one of them just stayed on there forever even through all of the bumps...so easily entertained. 😊

It was a pretty quiet night where after dinner Robyn and I took the time trying to get our sandpaper feet nice and smooth again. Then to top it all off Rachael gave us each a foot massage. Heaven!

Oh yes, speaking of quiet nights, apparently I was being really quiet at dinner because Mel or was it Donna made comment that I was being quiet. Perhaps it was because I was sitting by Shauna, Brian and Robyn whom I'd pretty much spent all day with and had run out of conversation? Or perhaps I just didn't have anything to say?
Easily EntertainedEasily EntertainedEasily Entertained

Shauna and Brian observing the "pea".
No real explanation for me being quiet but I suppose I can't come up with observations and witty remarks all the time! haha


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0928s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 985.6kb