Bassi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bassi
October 16th 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It’s an early start as we join villagers for a 3 hour train ride to the small town of Bassi.

It’s times like these that I find most fascinating. As the train pulls up and everyone impatiently bundles there way onto the carriages you somehow scramble through the sea of people to find a spare couple of feet to yourself. There’s no luxury on these trains. You’re luck if you’re able to find a wooden seat at the most however there’s something captivating and intriguing about it all. It’s here that you can really interact with the locals and experience everyday life in India. There’s so many interesting people that I find myself staring at and can’t help but grab my camera and snap away at the locals.

Although there doesn’t seem to be much order in many things in India such as the transport, somehow everyone seems so calm and helpful. Many times our Rickshore driver is unaware of where to go. There seems to be no street names anywhere but they patiently stop and ask the locals. Train stops have no announcements but people are willing to help guide you. And I have no idea how there’s no road rage from the driving I’ve experience but what seems ludicrous and chaotic to us is the norm to those living out here.

Once again I get lost in daydreams as the train pulls off and the sea of colourful fields swallows me in. Thoughts of loved ones back home puts a smile on my face and the feeling of accomplishing a goal of mine tastes satisfying and rewarding.
Days spent in a four walled office eyes glued to a screen for 8 hours a day on matters that seem so insignificant and unnecessary. For sure there are times I’m missing back home and I’m sure there will be many more to come but right here right now I’m feeling so much calmer and at peace with myself. The 18 months it took me to plan and save for this trip is so far proving to be priceless.




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bassi CastleBassi Castle
Bassi Castle

We're spoilt for a night in a lovely converted castle where we had time to relax and soak up some sun
Bassi CastleBassi Castle
Bassi Castle

Holly's Bombay Sapphire dance.
Local town in BassiLocal town in Bassi
Local town in Bassi

Daily washing by the lake


Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb