Announcing the new arrival!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Orissa » Bhubaneswar
April 21st 2010
Published: April 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

On the showroom floorOn the showroom floorOn the showroom floor

In the Bhubaneswar Enfield store just hours after arriving off the truck from Chennai on April 17th
Today was the day of my new arrival. I would like to announce that Gladys is now with me for the start of what I hope will be a long and enjoyable relationship!

Pictures attest to the bundle of joy!

So far she is a little shy in the busy traffic but is doing just fine!

We are waiting for the builder to come and knock a hole in the wall outside my flat and insert a gate so I can park her beside my room locked up - meanwhile she is spending the night in my NGO host's yard.





September 2016 update

Gladys and I have now done 73,000 kms in India (and Nepal..one trip)... She is better than ever.. better than new. Lots of maintenance and care along the way and many replaced parts of course... but what a great bike. Bikin' on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Getting a final checkGetting a final check
Getting a final check

In the back workshop have a last check over of all functions - plus having a roll bar and luggage rack added
First real contactFirst real contact
First real contact

My first sitting with Gladys (I had to think how I put that for a moment - I think this is a safe and decent enough use of language?!)


21st April 2010

IMPRESSIVE
What a hot little number - and the bike is fabulous too! Seriously though, well done Paul - ENJOY every moment of riding with Gladys (interesting choice of name and I look forward to hearing about why you called her Gladys). If I ever get to Bhubaneswar can I be a very well behaved pillion.............I luv motor cycles - had a little Virago 250 for a while but decided I was a better pillion than driver. Take special care. Hugs Marguerite
21st April 2010

Welcome Gladys
She is beautiiful - congratulations to you both. With her between your legs what else could you possibly ask for! Mind you I think Gladys should have both golden eye and her name on the tank! Some sunshine in your life now. x
21st April 2010

WOW!
fully sick bro
21st April 2010

Gladys
Paul, looks great, so I am not the only bod that names vehicles, always in the female gender, to me its perfectly logical to name a Red Landcruiser Ruby but where the heck does Gladys come from, is it a Dame Edna thing, all the best and enjoy....JB
22nd April 2010

Congratulations
Hi Paul Congrats Lovely bike. Wish you many many miles of Happy riding with Gladys Rajendra
22nd April 2010

Red Devil
Hey Paul, I can hardly wait to try out your new machine in the Spiti Valley!!
22nd April 2010

It's RED!!
Gladys is beautiful. Of course she had to be RED! Just keep a good watch out for TRUCKS!!
23rd April 2010

heat and dust!!!
Dear Paul, I finally got time to to through your last comments on the travel blog. It was very interesting and full of suspense! everything can always happen in india and not one day is like another... hope your injury is getting better, not so easy to heal a scar in a hot and humid climate. You seem to have found your marks and the flat seems really nice. The bike is very impressive!all the kids of the surroundings must show up when you start it!!! Here it's now spring, warm weather is finally coming. It was good to read you it's lake making a little trip to india...the temples in Orchha are splendid, we haven't been there yet. With my warm greetings Brigitte

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb