Day 23: Red Fort & Lotus Temple


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
June 21st 2011
Published: September 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I woke up at 8.30 and felt quite confused on what to do. After showering, I went out to the market beside the hotel to refill the credit in my simcard. I had breakfast at Coffee house afterwards (I had fried eggs and toasted bread with butter) and I used the wifi to check fb and ways to Lotus temple and Metro Walk mall, in case I have to go alone. After breakfast, I went back to my room and I called Gyaltsen (Rabsel's nephew) and he said he was free for the day and he would meet me after lunch. I was so glad I won’t have to be alone in Delhi. It was only 10 at that time, so I decided to write overdue journals in my comp while watching VH1. I went to lunch at 12 at A-Ma Restaurant (I had Chicken Garlic Spicy fried rice, it was nice but I couldn’t finish so I asked for it to be packed). After lunch, Gyaltsen called and told me he was already at the hotel and saw my room was locked. So after settling the bill and packed food, I went back to the room to put my packed food and met him.

Our first stop was Red Fort. We took auto-rickshaw from hotel to Red Fort for Rs 60. We finished Red Fort in almost 2 hours so we had plenty of time left. Original plan was to visit only Red Fort for the day. So we went to our second stop: Bahai Lotus Temple. We took rickshaw to chandni chowk metro, then took metro to Nehru place metro station and walked to the temple. On the way there, we realized that Kalkaji metro station is nearer to the temple compared to Nehru place. We spent 2 hours too there. I tried to take picture and videos of the interior but the staff came to me to ask me erase all photos and videos I had of the interior, damn it! I shouldn’t have been too obvious. After Lotus temple, we went back to Majnu ka Tila with metro and auto-rickshaw. We met the peak-hour wave in the metro and it was just crazy. Luckily we stood near ladies compartment so the traffic wasn’t that crazy in our compartment.

At the hotel room, I showered, had my fried rice as dinner, had chips as snacks, wrote my overdue journals again, watched tv & my comp series and rest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb