Delhi/India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
July 28th 2008
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pretty Cool LookingPretty Cool LookingPretty Cool Looking

Baha'i Temple
We actually were in Delhi 4 different times but I decided to write about it all at once. the first 3 times were for less than 24 hours, so we did the most at the end of our trip when we stayed there for 3 days. Everytime we stayed at Grand Hotel Godwin. Daddy loved it that he could leave stuff there everytime we left.

Delhi had lots of great sites. We saw the Red fort which, while not as impressive as the Agra fort, was really cool. We visited the Bahai'i temple which daddy said had some resemblance to a building he saw once in Australia. We visited the ancient ruins of Qutb Minar Complex, as well as the beuatiful tombs of Humayun.

However, my favorite 2 sites were the Jama Masjid and the Akshardham Temple. The Jama Masjid was an enormous mosque. I had so much time in the ceter of the courtyard at the big pool. I got lots of attention here. The Akshardham temple is where we spent our last day in Delhi, and it was one of the highlites of my whole trip to India. It was like a temple and amusement park all in one. There was a boat ride that explained the history of India and a 50 minute movie that explained about the Swaminarayan religion. Daddy was hoping that I would last at least 10 minutes in the movie. Instead, after the movie I told him I wanted to see it again, so we did. I really liked the story about the boy who started the religion.

Our 5 week trip in India and Nepal was unfortunately coming to an end. I had such a good time. I think I have caught the travel bug from my daddy and look forward to our next adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Memorial to India's DaddyMemorial to India's Daddy
Memorial to India's Daddy

Mahatma Ghandi Memorial
Victory TowerVictory Tower
Victory Tower

Qutb Minar Complex
peek-a-boopeek-a-boo
peek-a-boo

Qutb Minar Complex
Hot DogHot Dog
Hot Dog

New Delhi Airport
Having FunHaving Fun
Having Fun

Red Fort
Because I was cuteBecause I was cute
Because I was cute

I was allowed places others weren't


11th August 2008

awesome
I can't wait til your next trip. I won't be travelling for a while so it's been so great to get these little missives from two people who travel to awesome places.
6th January 2009

Great way to travel
I am so impressed by your travels, if I had a little one I'd probably be doing the same. Travel is the best way to become a well rounded adult. Cheers
10th May 2011

Beautiful India!
I got so excited reading about your India/Nepal blogs that I couldn't even stop to comment too much, I so much wanted to read all of it! It looks incredible! Brought back a lot of memories, will have to come back again with my daughter.

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb