After words, the photos.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
October 3rd 2007
Published: October 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, time for photos...


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Going for gold...Going for gold...
Going for gold...

My last week in Spituk..and the fields of barley are going golden
Together for another momentTogether for another moment
Together for another moment

Oh ...so much warmth and joy shared... I remember it being said in some teachings that humans have less idea what to do with joy than hardship and suffering.
New roomsNew rooms
New rooms

Look at the boys eyes and you will know how much difference the refurbished dorm rooms will make. The fundraising does not stop - there is a need for new/more classrooms in the school, some seating or writing desks, winter clothing... So if you have not had a chance...take a chance...I'm back in UK from tomorrow.
Doughnuts ruleDoughnuts rule
Doughnuts rule

In the last week there were lots of farewell dinners...mainly with adult friends and teachers. Not to miss out treating the boys I did (with their exhuberant help) a chips and Crotian doughnuts night. We kicked off at 6 and were still smearing each other with Nutella and jam at 9... I don't think boys liked it ;)...as you can tell.
Farewell to Jangspal familyFarewell to Jangspal family
Farewell to Jangspal family

In the last week work on the facade of their house was finished and floweres were splashing their last colour vibes in the garden. I can't wait to see which colour opf the walls they decide to go for. There was a mention of serpo, marpo and karpo... What would you go for?
Looking twrds Ladakh proper from T-passLooking twrds Ladakh proper from T-pass
Looking twrds Ladakh proper from T-pass

On my way to Keylong; 'woweed-out maaaan"..
For my English chumsFor my English chums
For my English chums

Tea and momo break afte Rothang-la...they go out of their way to make us feel at home...
Rothang pass...and then..this.Rothang pass...and then..this.
Rothang pass...and then..this.

Looking down towards Manali...my eyes felt wrong...there was just too much green everywhere.
Dharamsala-Mcloud Ganj -a view from Geden Choeling nunneryDharamsala-Mcloud Ganj -a view from Geden Choeling nunnery
Dharamsala-Mcloud Ganj -a view from Geden Choeling nunnery

Blinded by green...I took to the nunnery...their day starts at 5 am with puja and I have heard their vioces practice the traditional debate until 9-10pm. I joined the puja on my last day...and sort of cacooned the rest of the time with my books and communal conjunctivitis.
A day in Mcloud GanjA day in Mcloud Ganj
A day in Mcloud Ganj

I mean...for 14 out of 17 days I was there, it rained. Nuff' said. Ask the monkey.

#@***##% :( !

...and to you too...wet Betty, you bloomin' thief: bread-gone, chocolate brownie!#*!!!-gone and a carton of juice!!!!-gone. A carton of juice! It sort of lead me to believe that my missing binoculars were a part of a ploy to take over... Too much rain...
Mcloud Ganj melaMcloud Ganj mela
Mcloud Ganj mela

So many people...where's the nunnery gate!!!
Article 5 demo Article 5 demo
Article 5 demo

Read about it and get involved...It pushes the boundaries of constriction into the area of absurd and desperate. The 2008 olympics are coming - check out free Tibet website etc...
Night vigil in front of HH Dalai Lama's homeNight vigil in front of HH Dalai Lama's home
Night vigil in front of HH Dalai Lama's home

Poignant and moving...not enough though...needs to grow and spread abroad.
Middle England? ...nope.Middle England? ...nope.
Middle England? ...nope.

On the way to Tibetan Children's Village I suddenly felt I was already back in UK. I met an interesting man who lives and preaches from this church...unassuming but 'different'...
sisters abroadsisters abroad
sisters abroad

The lovely Ladakhi nuns have come to call me Pema... and have insisited in offering 6 hands to help me with the 3 bags on my departure. Different kind of love...
...and brothers.....and brothers..
...and brothers..

If Karma has led me to Ladakh and all these people...than I want to hug it with purest love and appreciation.
Basket time in ChandigarhBasket time in Chandigarh
Basket time in Chandigarh

This is Angmo's basket gang...rearing to go. I had great fun supporting the "blues" in full voice. I think they were red from the sun rather than embarassment...
NIck Chand Rock Garden cityNIck Chand Rock Garden city
NIck Chand Rock Garden city

This place made me wander what makes a man quetly, and for a long time without anyone noticing, build a "city" of shapes and figres...as an expression of his artistic drive...For what I though it was from reading about it, it was not.


8th October 2007

Spituk
I didn't realise that you were staying at the SPITUK monastery, I've definitely visited it, just can't remember which it was. How far is it from Leh, might remember if I had directions? So glad that you have enjoyed your journey to Ladakh so much, it certainly is a very special place isn't it. Take care. LoL Wendy. PS Is it just a Common Darter, one would think it to be something more exotic.

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb