Which country are you coming from?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
November 19th 2006
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have heard people’s disdain and others enthusiasm and of course Geoff’s numerous tales of India and now I’m here to see for myself.

Delhi was a full on emersion for 4 days Lots of new sights and smells everywhere (mostly curry, although I was to find out this is a word that’s not used in India).

You certainly wouldn’t see camels walking down a London street or an elephant eating the trees, not to mention the crazy traffic that I saw. I think Geoff saved me from a couple of near death experiences when trying to cross roads. The only way I can describe the traffic to you is ……fluid. I feel that I should say more, like it moves in the same direction at least…….. but it doesn’t, or maybe that everyone appears in control………. who knows maybe they are or maybe they aren't, but whatever - for all the horns there is no road rage and no angry words.

To sum up Delhi it was hectic and smoggy, with so much to take in the brain boggled at the end of each day. Oh and I can certainly recommend coming to Delhi to get cheap glasses, and I know my sister will be shocked but they are even genuine Tommy Hilffinger.

From the pictures you will also see we also took in some sights - temples and the railway museum (once an engineer always an engineer....)

I can see why some people are enthusiastic and others dismiss this country as dirty and poor. Of the small part I've seen I can’t wait to see some more.



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Jama Masijd 1Jama Masijd 1
Jama Masijd 1

India's biggest mosque
Minaret at the Jama MasijdMinaret at the Jama Masijd
Minaret at the Jama Masijd

You can't just look at it you have to walk up too.
Recovery drink after the walk back downRecovery drink after the walk back down
Recovery drink after the walk back down

Geoff's loving the rules at the Jama Masijd, the bare foot hippy.
The view speaks for itselfThe view speaks for itself
The view speaks for itself

It was worth every step.
Chandni Chowk bazaar's simple electrics ......Chandni Chowk bazaar's simple electrics ......
Chandni Chowk bazaar's simple electrics ......

Why have one electric wire when you can have thousands?
Fluid trafficFluid traffic
Fluid traffic

View from our tuk tuk


6th December 2006

Culture Shock
Definately a culture shock experience. Can hear the car horns from here just looking at the pictures. Organised chaos - and we call them for advice?
8th December 2006

Hi Lexa and Geoff
Lovely photos, glad you are having such interesting visits. Are you in the mountains now. Love and happy travelling
18th December 2006

photos
Great photos - I think 'fat bloke coming through' was the crowning glory.... ;)

Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 23; qc: 131; dbt: 0.1442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb