Day 1 - arrival


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi » Dwarka
February 2nd 2013
Published: February 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

I'm currently sitting in a very small internet cafe, it's owner slating someone over the phone, and below me there is a scene of utter chaos that I haven't quite got used to. I have not slept since thursday night, as both flights opted for sub-zero AC and the terminal in Saudi Arabia had the worst seats I have ever had the displeasure to try and while away 5 hours whilst sitting in. The result is a rather edgey Alex, which isn't reacting too well to the noise and sensory explosion outside.

That said, I did have an hour-long gander around the streets and can't wait to go explore again tonight and tomorrow with Aneirin. I was hardly hassled atall; I like to think I have a 'man-of-the-world' swagger that repells the touts, but it could just as easily be my odour at the moment. When in Rome!

The flight was very interesting. I was one of only about 5 whites on both flights, and thus drew a fair bit of attention. The Saudi bloke next to me on the first flight was devastated when I revealed I was only visiting his country in transit - I charmed him by suggesting my next trip would be around the Middle-East, which I highly doubt. I was presented with dates on sticks and hot Saudi tea ("It's our beer" says my neighbour) and sat back, feeling rather cultured, to watch a movie. I chose 'The Watch' but was bemused to find that it had been heavily edited; a Saudi man dubbed over any naughty words with a curt shout, scenes with women were all but removed and parts in which alcohol featured, which turned out to be a fair bit, were editing hilariously. As we landed in Saudi, the women around me who had been in Western clobber suddenly rose as one and donned their Burkahs - quite sinister. They did so with a slight air of reluctancy, like that of the schoolboy told to tuck in his shirt by a teacher.

Anyway, the message is I have reached my first bed of the journey without incident. Though I was led around the airport by a little man for about 10 minutes who insisted he had a car somewhere, I eventually came to my senses, booked a taxi for 350rupees and pretty much passed out in the passenger seat as the elected driver did his best to rid his vehicle of all its original paintwork.

I'm off to get some of that fabled street food now. I'm hoping Aneirin finds the hotel easily, and can't wait to share several glasses of chai on the roof of our hotel - the aptly named 'Smyle Inn'.

Hope all is well with everyone back home!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb