Our first day in Delhi or is it New Delhi?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
May 19th 2013
Published: May 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

This place is Frickin crazy my peeps.



Having said that, its pretty awesome too. Still jetlagged and groggy, we got ourselves up and squared away travel arrangements for the week before we hired a driver to take us around the city. Yes....I know.... I'm a big proponent of public transit and there is a metro stop ten minutes away...However...there are just certain ways to do things in 115 heat (100 and effing hot as I like to describe it). We had a/c (ish) and a nice driver to take us to several sites. And we employed him for the day.

We experienced a Buddhist temple, Humayan's tomb, governmental square (aka somethin official named here), the Indira Gandhi museum, the India Gate and the Lotus temple. Nearly everywhere people asked to take their pictures with us. I'm not one to brag...but I'm kind of a big deal.....In my own mind.

The Indira Gandhi museum was fantastic, something the Indian people should be very proud of.

The Lotus temple is a massive building built in the shape of....you guessed it a Lotus flower. those of the Baha'i faith invite everyone to visit, though you are required to take off your shoes before you walk inside. That's right, in 115 heat you need to take off your shoes before walking up the stairs and around the building . I had socks on, but E was barefoot and she toughed it out on the rough and hot burlap rug walkway so I could go inside and say a prayer. The Baha'i is fairly new religion, but to me they are one of the few that really get it; in their core they understand our human need for love and some sort of spiritual presence and they accept you completely. Check it out if you have a minute.

Lunch was pretty good, lamb chops and garlic naan with a side of milky tea. The city is surprisingly green with huge public spaces and massive birds everywhere, street dogs and even a few pigs feral pigs scattered in alleys. Traffic isn't too bad though driving is somewhat consistently terrifying. But I will tell you, when you reach that point where you're tired and hot and horns will just not stop you do have quick thoughts of a very non Buddha nature. There is very real, visible poverty with shantytowns and beggars and such. My heart is somewhat troubled because it doesn't trouble me like it used to. I am trying to figure out if I've come to expect it and have hardened myself to it. I hope not. It's strange but I don't want to stop feeling surprised or saddened by the state of affairs globally. These circumstances should be shocking, but whether its jet lag or experience I feel ambivalent.

Time to rest up a bit and figure out what is wrong with my shriveled grinch heart.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



19th May 2013

wow!
Amazing!! The lotus temple is gorgeous!!! Can't wait for the next installment!! :)

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb