Welcome to India


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
June 8th 2012
Saved: August 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I arrived very early in the morning (6am) after a very long journey from home to India. Leaving the airport it was clear that I was a very long way from home. I was so excited that I finally made it to the place that has intrigued me since I was very young.

I was met at the airport by 'The Best Aiesec'er Ever' (lol), Anmol. My first impression after stepping into this new country was the traffic, the rules of the road (or lack there of if your from Canada) and the amount of people it was possible to fit into/on a tuk tuk (the little green 'cars' and main mode of transportation in my day to day), motorcycle, car etc. Needless to say I won't be attempting to drive during my time here.

I wasn't especially shocked by the heat on my first day but this could of been because of the adrenaline from being dropped down into this new world. Needless to say, by the next day the realization of the level of heat experienced in India on a daily basis (it has been 42-47 every single day), sunk in very very quickly. My first day
My new cell phone. My new cell phone. My new cell phone.

My Hindi cell phone!
out sightseeing I was struck with some serious heat stroke at Delhi's Red Fort, but recovered quickly with water, limeca (a mix of sprite and lemonade that is nausiatingly sweet) and air conditioning. By the time the afternoon rolled around and adrenaline kicked in yet again I was good to go. I learnt very quickly that it is neccesary to drink a minimum of 4-5 liters of water a day in order to survive the day and the scorching heat...minimum.

My first couple of days I did not see any of the cows in the street that India is famous for. I did however feel there was a ton of pigs, piglets and dogs everywhere in the streets. I didn't have to wait long for the cows as I and the other interns are now regularly greeted by groups of long horned cattle just outside of our housing and on the walk to work.

I was the only intern at the accomodation the day I arrived. I was greeted at 2 am by a lovely Mexicana nina, Mariana, my new roomate (yay for being able to practice some Espanol!). There are students from all over the world here, which contributes to an amazing experience. Students from Mexico, Egypt, Brazil, China and 1 other Canadian, are all taking part in various internships here in Delhi.

Here are some pictures from my first few days 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Bicycle RickshawBicycle Rickshaw
Bicycle Rickshaw

My first bicycle rickshaw ride :) We were all in Old Delhi on our way to Jama Masjid ( the largest mosque in India), the little man in red had to manoeuvre us through streets so full that walking would of been difficult...some how they always make it work.
Jama MasjidJama Masjid
Jama Masjid

Women are given a cover up to wear in order to enter the Mosque. This is the largest Mosque in India and was beautiful to see in person.
Jama MasjidJama Masjid
Jama Masjid

The ground gets so hot from the sun that they put long carpets out for people to walk on so they don't burn their feet...very very very hot!
HennaHenna
Henna

Some of the other interns and I couldn't resist the henna....


Comments only available on published blogs

16th June 2012

Good to hear from you!
So glad to read your first post from India! I have been thinking about you and wondering how you are doing. Love the picture of your first meal! I look forward to more stories and pictures.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb