Dilly Delhing on the "Overland" Road Again


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi » Karol Bagh
March 9th 2012
Published: March 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, here I go again and once again it was a little rough start. I didn’t leave as scheduled but ended up leaving 23 hours later than scheduled due to engine problems. I flew from Toronto to Frankfurt with no one in my aisle so I was able to sleep lying down and thanks to my new discovery – Ativan! From Frankfurt I flew direct to Delhi. The airport is not the crazy mess it used to be but a brand new enormous airport with all the modern amenities.



Even though I started my journey one day late, I was still able to visit some sites around Delhi. It is still the beautiful paradox it has always been and surprisingly enough, it seems cleaner and a little more organized than what I remembered four years ago. It is still mesmerizing that so many people can live in one country and overwhelming when you come to an intersection and see a sea of people, cars and rickshaws. Many of the changes in the infrastructure were because of the fact that India hosted the Commonwealth Games in 2010. The roadways are much better and the Metro system continues to be expanded.



My whirlwind tour of Delhi began on the banks of Yamuna River in Delhi, where a simple square platform of black marble marks the spot where Mahatma Gandhi was cremated after he was assassinated in 1948. It’s inscribed with what are said to have been his last words, “Hai Ram” (Oh God). It has a very peaceful atmosphere set among peaceful gardens and lawns. I visited the Lotus Temple of the Baha’i faith just outside New Delhi which is a marvel of white marble. At the India Gate, a 42m high memorial arch which pays tribute to around 90 000 Indian army soldiers who died in WWI, I was greeted by many school children who were on a school field trip. I counted about 30 students per class and a teacher at the front of the line and a volunteer at the end. All were so eager to say hello, shake my hand and practice what little English they knew.



This is another first for me, not India but the mode of transportation. I’ve been riding Josh all the way from Delhi. No it’s not some guy I picked up but the name
Josh, the Dragoman TruckJosh, the Dragoman TruckJosh, the Dragoman Truck

Yes, folks this has been our mode of transportation and kitchen for 17 days.
of the “overland” truck which is our mode of transportation. Why he’s called Josh no one really knows. This truck is retrofitted to have a water tank for drinking, cooking and washing up water, storage for everything from tables, stools, tents, backpacks, cooking equipment, a fridge, outlets to recharge electronics and a safe for valuables. The members of the group aren’t just travelers or passengers but part of the crew. Everyone is expected to get involved and help with setting up camp, pitching tents, loading luggage, organizing food containers, shopping for food and even cooking. We’ve been travelling for some very long days overland for up to 320 kms for up to 11 hours a day along some pretty rugged roads, experiencing sights, sounds, smells and lots and lots of dust!! We’ve been camping and cooking for about half of the journey so far and yes, I’m surviving and quite enjoying the camping since the tent is often cleaner than some of the “accommodations” but it’s been fine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb