A nervous start


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi » Karol Bagh
January 18th 2012
Published: February 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The enormity of what I was about to undertake hit me for the first time after an emotional farewell with the parents at Heathrow. For the next 48hrs my emotions seesawed between ecstatic excitement and anxiety, bordering at times on panic and dread.

The flight was fine, although I certainly wouldn't get excited about flying Air India in the future. I have noticed over the years the size of people’s hand luggage has got increasingly large and silly, are you seriously going to need all that stuff over the space of 8 hours??? Apparently not, as I have also observed that no one and I mean NO ONE takes their hand luggage out of the overhead luggage compartment until the plane lands. I dared to break this unspoken faux pax by retrieving a book from my bag half way through the flight to Delhi (what a bastard!) much to the disapproval of all passengers and cabin crew in the vicinity. I do of course understand that often people use hand luggage as a spill over for stuff they couldn't get in their main suitcase, but considering air India allow you 32kg of luggage in the hold why on earth does anybody need to take another huge bag on as hand luggage?? The mind boggles.

Upon arrival I took the Metro from the airport to Karol Bagh (where our hotel was located) changing at Old Delhi and also some other absurdly busy station. The Metro was very easy to use and cheap (inter city journeys 15pence! 20 min airport express transfer similar to Heathrow express, 1.20 GBP!), I was also the only white person using the metro so naturally there was a lot of inquisitive staring (from both me and the Indians). There would be much more staring over the coming few weeks, if there’s one thing Indians are not embarrassed about doing, it’s having a good, long, hard, unblinking unashamed stare.

My hotel on the first night was not hell but it was certainly built in the suburbs. I imagine it’s the sort of place Satan’s staff stay when travelling between hell and purgatory. My heart did drop a little when I first glimpsed my small, dark, smelly windowless room. My despair was only confounded by the hotel porters unashamed lies, over and over he told me 'very, very nice room sir, very, very nice room'. Was he blind or was he perhaps mentally retarded? Tired, exhausted and depressed at the rat breeding facility that was my hotel room, I wasn’t too far off turning round and getting on a plane home. Fortunately I decided instead to go to sleep. I slept most of my first day (I used my sleeping bag as the hotels sheets felt like they were moving when I lay against them) but did venture out in the evening for a meal. Walking down the street I could not help but smile, Delhi at night was as dusty, smoky and as wonderfully chaotic as I had imagined, it was fantastic. For the first time since arriving I cracked a smile to myself. I had my first Indian curry in a small restaurant called Naturally Spicey, I had a Rhogan Josh and Garlic Naan which I can easily say were the best examples of both I have ever eaten by far. The Rhogan Josh was rich, thick but also fresh (unlike curries at home) and aromatic, match stick strips off fresh ginger really helped lift and freshen the dish. The Nan was perfectly cooked, slightly chewy, not doughy, dripping with lovely, lovely ghee and covered with what looked like a full bulbs worth of garlic, it was heavenly. The curry and Nan were washed down by several King Fisher lagers which I'm pleased to say is also easily the best holiday beer I have had outside of the UK/Europe, smooth with a pleasing sweet honey aftertaste . I was a very happy and satisfied man. The total bill for my meal and drinks came to 500rps which included an over generous tip, this is around 6.20 GBP, not a bad price for a decent restaurant I'm sure you will agree!

The following day I spent the morning/afternoon exploring Delhi visiting the Red Fort and devouring more delicious food, though this time vegetarian. Vegetarian food is much more common place in India than food with meat in, so much so that menus have sections labelled vegetarian or non vegetarianfor meat dishes! The reason for the lack of meat dishes is partly religious (especially in Tamil Nadu) but often more to do with the cost of meat.

In the evening I met up with my tour group for the first time. Over half the group had been travelling together from Kathmandu for two weeks so had already had a chance to bond. From prior experience I know that It can be difficult in such situations to become an accepted group member, as such I decided to be aggressive in my friendliness and try and become acquainted and friendly with as many group members as quickly as possible. After our tour briefing and an excruciating and nerve racking round of introductions (Hi my name is Mark and I’m from.....) I went out for a meal and met most of the group who had been travelling together since Kathmandu. The other new group members made the foolish decision to do their own thing that evening, oh what rookies! Fortunately things at the restaurant meal went well, everyone in the group was great fun and I soon felt myself relax and start to come out of my shell. Finally my anxiety drifted away and I started to enjoy my trip.

Next......The trip begins........

Advertisement



23rd February 2012

awww
I totally missed reading your earlier blogs! You were definitely our favorite newbie in the group:) Hope you're making this last batch feel welcome! Miss you guys!!! Muah! Xx

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb