Day 21 - Pune, India - Pune Dam, Lions Fort and Hard Rock Cafe!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune
April 21st 2012
Published: April 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Pune, India


Saturday started with just the way I had imagined it. We had been planning all week to go and explore the rural side of Maharashtra and get to see how the locals really live.

Rakesh, KK, Sunny and myself had decided that we would visit Pune Dam and then take a trip up to Sinhagad Fort (The Lions Fort), we were in for an experience that we would never forget.

The plan was for Rakesh, KK and Sunny to arrive at the Oakwood Apartments on their motorbikes, oh yes motorbikes! They arrived at about 12pm which meant we had all day out and about. We were so excited, so off we set. The adrenaline rush was amazing, especially when we joined the main stream traffic, I have got to say that at first it was hair raising but after a couple of minutes we new we had professional riders in control.

We weaved through the traffic and some of the sights we saw on our way out of the city, were truly unbelievable. I tried snapping as much photos as possible as I dont know whether I will have an experience like this again.

We arrived at Pune Dam, this place was beautiful, the water looked so inviting and if I had, had shorts on then I probably would of jumped in until I was told that 2 months ago they pulled a crocodile out of there OMG!!! I looked along the shore line and seen a Camel, that was it! I was going on it, it cost about 20p, I was a bit anxious at first and the Camel smelled pretty bad. Off I set like Lawrence of Arabia down the shore line lol. We stayed for about 30 minutes before jumping back on the bike to set out up the mountain.

On the way I saw warning signs on the trees warning us to be aware of PANTHERS and LEOPARDS, I just hoped we didnt get stuck up there.

We arrived at the Fort, this place was absolutely stunning with panoramic views right across Maharashtra District and the history here is ancient with stories of great battles and sieges. There were a lot of stairs to climb and the heat was very intense, we climbed to the very top and when we approached the final battlement our faces were greeted by a beautiful wind that had blown thousands of miles uninterrupted from the far east, it was amazing!

We headed back after spending a couple of hours up there and saw a couple of monkeys on the way down, jumped on the bikes and set of into the sunset. We arrived back in Pune at RUSH HOUR! This was crazy but exciting we got back to our apartments for 8.30 that evening, and then decided to go to Hard Rock for our evening meal. We had a few cocktails and a bite to eat then I ordered a whiskey (Double) and didnt check the price! My drink arrived, it was nice. I took a few drinks then thought ahhhh just finish it. Down it went then the bill arrived............£24 for one drink, I nearly died. That will teach me. I slept well though lol.

We arrived back and finished the night in the Oakwood Lounge sipping Cosmopolitans and planning what we were going to do the next day.

A fantastic day and one I will never forget, I just wonder what is around the corner...........


Additional photos below
Photos: 100, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb