pedallingpete becomes pissedoffpete


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Nashik
September 11th 2006
Published: September 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hanuman at NasikHanuman at NasikHanuman at Nasik

Large figure in the street on the way to the ghats
2006………6wks-4th CYCLING TRIP-Gujarat & Southern Rajasthan, INDIA...........
I put my bike together at the train station with the idea that I would have a pleasant ride into town from the railway station but alas I find that putting FRAGILE on lugagge doesn't mean a lot.

Peddalingpete became pissedoffpete when I realised that the main gear sprocket had been bent badly. It was initially unrideable but about 45mins work by good bike mechanics who haven't seen such a bike before got it going but it is a bit cluncky. I'm pretty relieved actually as I thought I might have to go back to Mumbai and leave the bike there & head off without it. It will get me by even though it is only down to 8 gears. That's 8 more than an Indian cycle. I'm sure it can be fixed like new when I get back.

Getting the bike going again is an example of the quality of service common in India despite lack of tools or direct experience and difficult unsafe working conditions. I was offered a seat, provided free tea and watched their brains work in joint precision as they skillfully belted, bent and finely adjusted the
Nasik Bathing Ghats & MarketNasik Bathing Ghats & MarketNasik Bathing Ghats & Market

There's that Bike again- Maybe I should have bought an Indian one!
cog & gearing. Any bike here with gears is to be admired. There was about 10 people working in the dirt and grease on the pavement on fixing various bikes with a great sense of comradery.

The level of service in the hotels is admirable and at $13 a night for a large room with own bathroom & TV is good value, although trying to find a TV channel in English is proving a challenge. Generally I have been surprised at the lack of English spoken which is OK but what is difficult is that the signs are almost all in Hindi which may as well be Chinese as the script is unreadible to my ignorant eyes and written backwards to boot.

Nasik is named after the tales of the Epic Ramayama. It was here that Lakshmana hacked off the nose (nasika) of Ravana's sister. It is seen as a place of pilgramage with holy bathing ghats along the river where much washing, offerings, laundry cleaning, and buying and selling goes on. It is not on a par with Varanasi for ambience but it does throw one into the religious life of India. There are some 2000 temples
At the Ghats, NasikAt the Ghats, NasikAt the Ghats, Nasik

Kali? getting nasty
here.

By the way, you may have to scroll down further to see some of the photos (like on my previous post) if the blog is short on writing and bigger on photos. I'll try not to bore you with too much to read!

pedallingpete, your Indian Correspondent





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Nandi, Shiva's ConsortNandi, Shiva's Consort
Nandi, Shiva's Consort

What my last bike was called
Barefooted Barefooted
Barefooted

OHS&W? Playford Council would save a fortune on safety footware!
Happy Weding ?Happy Weding ?
Happy Weding ?

I hope it was.


15th September 2006

All's Well
It's an amazing contrast to Adelaide in spring. Good to know you have managed to use your bike; could have been worse. Waiting to hear about the food. Latho Drom-James
17th September 2006

Amazing
Pete it makes Singapore and Phuket seem like such a doddle!! You must have the constitution of an ox...a huge benefit in India of course. Will cycles to Melbourne soon...even that seems relatively trivial. Take care.
18th September 2006

Hi to the Medwins down under,down under
I'm glad you are enjoying it. It's certainly different with internet than when you are I were away in the 70s. I hear Rajasthan is getting pretty touristy which is hard imagine. I've only seen a handful of tourists so far. Gujurat is not visited by tourists much. Love Pete

Tot: 0.413s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 21; qc: 112; dbt: 0.1675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb