WELL....YOU JUST GOTTA LAUGH !


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Nashik
September 9th 2006
Published: September 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Taj Mahal Hotel, MumbaiTaj Mahal Hotel, MumbaiTaj Mahal Hotel, Mumbai

Where I'm Staying- Not! I am just around the corner though.
2006………6wks-4th CYCLING TRIP-Gujarat & Southern Rajasthan, INDIA...........
Coming to a country that values its cows over some of its people; that has about 1 billion people who don't share a common language in the world's largest democracy; where you need to avoid a cow, donkey, pig, pack of dogs and human excement in the middle of the main street of a major city of over 1mill; and where you can buy 40 malaria tabs for $1 (as against $10.25 for 7 in Australia) etc... well you just gotta laugh.

And that's how I started the day off this morning, joining in the 10yr strong laughter group of predominantly older women in saris & joggers on the pavement down under the towering walls of the Taj Mahal Palace Hotel. Normally they do it in the gardens adjacent to the 'Gateway to India' but there was a large Moslem festival going on. I was quickly accepted into the group and shown to stand with the men rather than the ladies. Soon we were all laughing and exercising by mimicking various nationalities such as jumping up and down like a Kangaroo or laughing like a haughty Englishman followed by using a computer or a mobile phone.

Early morning I meandered down to the local wharf where the mornings fish come in. I just happened to come across it. It was in the guide book but it's always more interesting if you feel you have discovered it yourself. It was the dirtiest, smelliest, & yet the most fasinating place I have seen and I have seen a lot over the years. Piles of animal guts mixed with human excrement along side a hole truck load of prawns being shovelled out. I have shovelled out cow sheds at the show but this, this was unbelievable for smell! Women in brightly coloured saris waited on their haunches for the fish to be delivered ready for them to gut, men loaded crushed ice onto boats via a slide of material from the wharf.

While waiting for my train to Nasik, I read about the bombing killing 38 people at Malegaon and realised that it is only 110km from where I am heading! This is about the 4th time there has been bombing here esp. following 9/11. The town is 75% Muslim and the attacks always happen on a Friday when the workers are in prayer rather than working at the local Loom Mills. Extra security forces have been sent to the area and I even had my yet un-named bike 'dog-sniffed' on arriving at Nasik as darkness started to fall.

Don't forget to scroll all the way down to check all the piccies each time.

Your Indian Correspondent, pedallingpete


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



14th September 2006

you just gotta laugh!
Hi there Peter, gosh, I am really enjoying your travelling, fortunately though, I am not getting the odours attached, whewwwwww. Look forward to more.
15th September 2006

Ahhhhhh
Gees I love your photos Pete - brings back memories - I can almost smell India LOL :D Take care and ENJOY Luv Carole
15th September 2006

Smell scratchies
Thanks Janet. It would be good if you could bring back smell scratchies for all your friends and could choose which ones for who you liked or those you didn't! My nose has been working overtime and at times just has a rest I think. Love to all there pedallingpete
21st September 2006

great to see yur pics and here the news
won't write much as last time I wrtoe to you I could not send it through- waste of time I thought!!
24th September 2006

Sorry you couldn't get through
I don't know if it was the site or what. I usually copy things off (using Conytrol C to put onto the pasteboard). Otherwise you could send it to our normal Email address which I check. Try again if you feel so inclined. Thanks for trying. Love Pete

Tot: 0.48s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 121; dbt: 0.2448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb