You know you're in India when.........


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
July 31st 2014
Published: August 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

As I sit in the bus from Mumbai to Pune - I feel like I’ve been in a comedy of errors up until now.

After not hearing squat from the Unicontinental, I booked with the Golden Swan from booking.com (great site BTW). They were going to pick me up from the airport so when I saw a nice man holding a piece of paper with my name on it at the airport I naturally thought it was the Golden Swan. On arrival at the hotel I realised that the Unicontinental had somehow been listening even though they had not been responding to my emails…….

This is the moment where Pi Wei loses her shit after 20 hours of travel and what now seemingly amounts to abduction, as they hold me captive in their lobby insisting that I pay for their airport transfer and overnight stay whether I stay or not – so I might as well stay right? BOOM!

That night as I stood in my room at the Golden Swan I turned to see Kim Jong Il looking back at me – or was that his son – or Margaret Cho in drag? I was tired yet enervated from my lobby performance at the Unicontinental. Like a vaudeville player I wiped away the characters of the nights’ performance and needed the gin and an after show party to help me forget them.



I lay down in the grubby sheets of my $40 hotel and slept.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Pune GuideThe Pune Guide
The Pune Guide

Handy reading for anyone going to study at RIMYI. Mostly geared to US students but useful to everyone.


1st August 2014

Enjoy
Hi darling I hope you hsve a wonderful time.
1st August 2014

Thanks!
Who knows how this month will unravel....or perhaps I'll just unravel!

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb