Adventure in the AM!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 23rd 2010
Published: January 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Some sort of ceremonySome sort of ceremonySome sort of ceremony

A man and woman were in the ocean being watched by this crowd. I saw them come down the beach and stop while a preacher of some sort talked to the couple.
With the boss out of town and the fact that our teams don't typically start until noon we decided to head in a little late (around 10:00). With that I decided to venture out, not sure exactly what I was going to do so I got my bright red swimming trunks and tennis shoes and headed for the beach. Security to the beach is heavy, guess the JW Marriott doesn't want to get invaded so there is a big door, a guard, badges, etc. and the sign you in and out. After giving me instructions on how to ring the bell to get back I was off.

I started walking and wanted to get some pics of the hotel from the back side and sneak a shot of the machine gun bunker that I had stumbled on a couple of nights ago. You heard it right, a machine gun bunker. Needless to say I was acting like a total tourist, didn't want to get a guy with a machine gun upset but had to have the picture.

From there I headed off soaking in what I could of the surroundings. First observation is all the trash. It makes me
Burried treasureBurried treasureBurried treasure

Saw several teracotta type things burried. There were enough of them in good shape that I don't think it was by accident like some sort of buddha street vendor that had blown up.
sad but the beach is very trashy with all kinds of plastic protruding from the sand. I decide not to get in the water, normally I would have but my colleage who has been here strongly cautioned us about the water. I don't think he meant the ocean and normally I wouldn't have hesitated but decide to hold back.

I notice several other oddities along the beach that I got pictures of including a ceremony, ceramics, and a monster!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

SecuritySecurity
Security

Cool door but bolted several times.
Looking one direction down the beachLooking one direction down the beach
Looking one direction down the beach

Looks like any other city, hard to see the poverty from here.
Fort MarriottFort Marriott
Fort Marriott

Here's the hotel and the f'ing bunker! Can't see it but there is a dude with a big ass machine gun in there. One of the locals on my team told me they are army people on alert from the bombing last year on 11/26.
Nature's MendelbrotNature's Mendelbrot
Nature's Mendelbrot

Thought this was cool. If you aren't sure what a Mendelbrot set is look it up.
Kick ass beach houseKick ass beach house
Kick ass beach house

I put some money down on it.
Option 2Option 2
Option 2

If I don't like the first here is another option.


24th January 2010

wish i was strolling that beach with you. i like your pictures.
24th January 2010

The pictures from the beach are very interesting. I, as well, don't understand why people decide to "trash" natures beauty. It is a very unfortunate thing. The seashells (nature's mandelbrot) are very cool. I couldn't tell what the puprle and white thing was but I am assuming it is a seashell of some sort. Beach house is neat. Machine gun bunker is a nice touch. Scary, but at least you should feel a little safer. The indian crow looks similar to one of the birds that we see here in the summer...

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb