A sea of Muslims


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 16th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

K's BalconyK's BalconyK's Balcony

Where we eat breakfast and read the paper.
After 16 hours in flight, 3 movies, one non-stop screaming child and a bottle of cough syrup, I arrived in MUMBAI!

Delirious and jet-lagged I wandered through a sea of Muslim men dressed in white until I found Kerman's dad smiling at me through the crowd. Of course I had to arrive on the last night of Hajj - with a "bajillion" (to quote K) Muslims returning from the largest annual pilgrimage to Mecca.

It was a bit crazy getting out of the airport, but we eventually made it home.

Next few days are a blur of zooming along packed, colorful streets in K's mini car, recovering from jet lag and adapting to life on "Indian Standard Time." So much to explain, but for now a few pictures must suffice...





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

balconybalcony
balcony

View outside K's apartment
NIKI!NIKI!
NIKI!

K's bird. I'm a little obsessed with him. He finally let me pet him last night! (I knew I'd wear him down!)
K, Aneesh, NicoleK, Aneesh, Nicole
K, Aneesh, Nicole

We barley get to see him in NY, but were sure not to miss him in Mumbai!
Aneesh's PupsAneesh's Pups
Aneesh's Pups

There's two, but I only seemed to have taken a photo of one. They speak gujurati and deliver Aneesh's used plates to the kitchen for him.
colorful cabscolorful cabs
colorful cabs

Make NYC taxis seem like driving Ms. Daisy.
coffeenightcoffeenight
coffeenight

K's Krew: Zubin, Varun, Tharika, K, Karishma
HijrasHijras
Hijras

A hijra (according to Wikipedia) is usually considered a member of "the third sex" — neither man nor woman.


16th January 2008

Only Zen (the unpictured one) delivers stuff to the kitchen and cleans up - Zorba is fat and lazy. But still adorable nevertheless.
16th January 2008

This blog rocks!!
I'm going to log on every day! I almost cried looking at the photos, India seems so interesting....I want to go some day!! Remember to bring me back something pink and shiny!!! xoxo Erin

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb