Day 7 - Sunday/Raviwar - The Indian Hell-th Farm


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Lonavala
September 3rd 2006
Published: December 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After a really good sleep, and another warm-cornflakes-and-curry breakfast, Kristian and I went to the Cyber Cafe at Hotel Kumar. We waited for 45 minutes after the posted opening time, but despite being assured three times by staff it would open "in 5 minutes" the guy with the key never materialised, so we had to abandon the plan and go back for the bus to the Ashram - which was actually only 5 minutes away.

On arrival I checked into the room I'm sharing with Keith (small and simple - the room, not Keith. He's not simple) we had very bland vegetarian lunch, then were given information on the daily schedule and the health treatments available, including massages, saunas, mud treatments and enemas! I fancied trying as much as possible - they're sooo cheap - but slots are limited and so I've booked in for a massage and sauna tomorrow.

While Keith and Kristian were having massages, I took my first autorickshaw back into town, a very exciting experience as I don't think he took his foot off the accellerator all the way, just swerved around oncoming traffic and the ubiquitous Sacred Cows, which have free reign to wander across any roads they wish! I checked my email and chatted to my Mum, and was charged 2 hours for a 62 minute session - bloody pedantic if you ask me!

I got back to the Ashram in time for our first yoga session - an hour long with more talking than doing, but still felt more flexible and relaxed afterwards, and I'm looking forward to the others (we have two a day here, before breakfast and before dinner).

Speaking of which, dinner later that evening was vile - more veg boiled in a combination of awful tasting spices. All the food here is not just healthy vegetarian, but cleansing (either has diuretic or detoxifying qualities), so isn't designed with taste in mind! Us guys in the group all headed out straight after, piled 4 of us into an autorickshaw and went to "Smokin' Joe's" pizza parlour in town. I had a gorgeous margerita and a bottle of coke for less than a pound, and then we all walked briskly back to the Ashram - we've to be back by 9 as they close the gates!

With bland food, served in little metal trays, people going to the gates to smoke and running into town for contraband food after dinner, it feels oddly like being in a boarding school!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb