Day 33 - Move to Orchha


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Madhya Pradesh » Orchha
August 21st 2015
Published: August 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 33 - Move to Orchha

Anna and I have the early morning run well sorted! Anna always needs more time to get herself sorted, so always gets up half an hour earlier than me. Then I follow on after her. By the time to go, we always seem to be organised at exactly the same time, and ready to go! I am happy to be sharing her space.

This morning we left the hotel at 7.15 to get the train to Orchha. We are expecting a two and a half hour journey this morning.

I am treading on new territory, as from today, so really looking forward to see what there is to see! Anu has informed us that Orchha is a contrast to the other busy towns that we have been to so far, so looking forward to the change ahead.
The train arrived, Anu has us at the starting line ready to go! As I have learnt before, you have to learn to loose your manners in India when using public transport; this also applies to dealing with, or in fact, not dealing with beggars and street traders! Ignorance is bliss, or the only sure way to ensure that you get your, or even any seat, and not get sucked into giving to the very sorry looking, whilst well rehearsed beggars.

On the train our seats are a bit scattered. None of us are really bothered who sits where, none of us are concerned at sitting on our own. That's one of the bonuses of travelling alone; sitting, sleeping or eating are never a problem, you expect that you may well be, 'doing it in your own' at some point!

We all get our luggage sorted on the high shelf, then get to our chairs. It was only about 15 mins before breakfast came round. It was very basic, but edible. I was ready for something to eat, so actually quite enjoyed it! I'm sat close to Bernie, she looked like she also enjoyed hers too. Like me, the foil pack was empty!

Bernie and I are sat at either side of an Indian lady, who has slept the whole journey. Her Saree is the most beautiful green. I don't think I could get away with wearing that colour though. I think I'd go for orange, it would enhance my skin more. That green is lively, but it does nothing for an,'over 50's' skin! Just an observation! Lol

I did try watch a film on my iPad, but just couldn't concentrate!..... So nodded off!

The journey was easy, just as Anu had suggested. About two and half hours, I wasn't so confident on timing, as Indian timing doesn't always run the same as at home!

We got off in Jhansi, then it was a 30 minute tuk tuk ride to the hotel.

Any had told us that we would see a difference in Orchha, my original thought was, it looked the same as everywhere else, but that changed as we got further away from Jhansi. It gradually became more green along both sides of the road. I could see green landscape quite far. There also seems less traffic, and cows as we got nearer to the hotel. Hmmmm .... Take the cows off that list, I think there are more cows than cars!

As we turn into the hotel, it appears to have the wow factor, with posh tents! So, yes, we are staying in tents for one night. Inside is a bathroom, beds, TV, AC, everything we need.

Anna and I sat outside the tent chatting, Anu joined us. We were discussing the relaxing afternoon ahead. Beer was mentioned by Anu, closely followed by, pool, massage etc. Lisa and Bernie joined us, the conversation continued.... The beer won!

It was so chilled, having a beer, chatting, and chilling.
We are opposite the Orchha Cenotaphs. This is were the Orchha royal family used to be cremated. It is open as tourist attraction, so we will be going over at some point later.

Lisa, Bernie and I went for a swim. The pool was lovely, not filled with floating dead insects! I enjoyed the swim. It is so hot and humid, it was a welcome relief.

At 3.30, we went with a local guide to see the Jaehangir Palace (Ochhra Palace).

On the way we stopped off to view the cenotaph gardens. There are lots of big vultures, nesting in the towers. He explained when, and why is was used.

We moved on to the palace. On the way, we passed the Betaw River. It is considered to be a sacred river because it is the only river that flows south to north, which is special.

On first impressions, the palace was really run down, but there is lots of restoration work being done there. It's a real shame that many people still do graffiti on the walls, when people are trying so hard to restore it. The main entrance was pretty spectacular, with the carved elephants, huge doors and use if various stones which show in different colours. There were also some good quality wall paintings still in good condition, all telling stories of the Hindu past.

As you walked up the stairs to higher levels, the scenery made the climb well worth it. There are amazing views of the green countryside.

We went back to the hotel, exhausted. Lisa and I instantly fell onto our beds and slept. We woke up just in time for meeting Anu! I could have stayed there all night, but don't want to miss the visit to the Palace of Ram.

We met with Anu; sitting in the grassy area of the hotel, he shared with us information about Hinduism, and the cast system. It is so complicated , the more I am told, the more complicated it becomes. Anu did a good job of offering me some clarification. He gives us the confidence to ask anything we feel we need to, which is good, as I know, no question is a stupid question, if you need the answer! He is really open with us, which I like!

Shoulders covered, we set off for Ram's Palace. The people go to the service twice a day, morning and evening; Anu rang the bell on the way in. That is done to let a Ram know that his children are coming to worship. The doors to where the idol is seated is opened for only a few minutes in each ceremony. The priest is the only person who actually goes into the room with Ram for the worship, the people watch on.

It was explained to us that all Hindus worship Ram as a God, but here in Ochhra, he is worshipped as a King. After the ceremony, Anu clearly explained the reasons why this happens, through the story of how this situation originated. He explained that lots of people come to Ochhra on pilgrim to worship Ram.

We went in a small local restaurant for our evening meal, but I just don't seem to be hungry! I might miss it out and just have a lassi.

We return to the hotel. The plan is to sit, chat, drink and just enjoy each other's company, get to know each other and just enjoy the time here.

After dinner I was totally stressed about no internet, blog to do, need a shower; yes, all totally insignificant things! But do l ever learn, No!

I rushed around getting a shower. But forgot my towel, I crept back into the room to get my towel. The carpet slipped on the ceramic tiles, I crashed down onto the ceramic tiles, right on my head! I was out cold, I think! Anna walked in to find me on the floor. She told me later I couldn't speak!

A doctor was called out to see me. He says all is ok, I'll just need rest. I stayed in bed after that. No party for me!







Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



22nd August 2015

OMG!
Lesley.......will you please be careful! Either take more "water with it". lol. or just more care! I am worried what I will read next! TAKE CARE! :)

Tot: 0.337s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb