Haircut 100


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Madhya Pradesh » Orchha
January 4th 2006
Published: January 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First thing this morning, I accompanied the hotel manager to the barber. The guy completely avoided eye contact with me, so I think he knew this was coming. A brief argument ensued, during which the owner said that the price was completely wrong and that I would be going to the police if I didn't get a partial refund. The barber eventually coughed up Rs 100, and attempted to apologise to me, which I was loth to accept. So I ended up paying the right(ish) price for a (bad) haircut, but I didn't make any friends in the process, and the whole experience left quite a bitter taste.

Since I had visited almost everything in Orchha yesterday, I only had a few outlying monuments on the agenda for today. None of them were of more interest than what I had already seen. About the only noteworthy event was that another foreigner thought I was waving at him from a distance, when in fact I was brushing a fly off my forehead. And a local guy asked where I was from then, when I told him, asked if I could speak English.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

VultureVulture
Vulture

Shortly after having a green parakeet for lunch


Tot: 0.405s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 38; qc: 168; dbt: 0.2986s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb