India Part 1


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Madhya Pradesh » Khajuraho
September 15th 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

You have to love India..You have to love India..You have to love India..

There is nothing you can't do with an Auto Rickshaw.
Lets just say that there have been many of surprises on this trip, lots of shocks and eye openers. but nothing prepared me for India. India is every adjective you can think of, both good and bad. From the sounds to the smells, to the.. well you get the point. I arrived into Bombay at 4 am and went straight to the hotel I had booked. I spent a few days getting adjusted to the city and its many inhabitants. Also the Cows, there are Cows everywhere..

I choose to head inland to see some of the sights and begin my Indian adventure. First stop was the Ajunta Caves they are rock-cut cave monuments dating from the second century BC which was a great. Then I headed up to Bhopal to check out some of the sights and then head up to Orcha. Orcha is a beautiful town with temples and Palaces surrounding the area.

Next was Khajuraho where I met a nice Indian family who took me in and showed me the real lifestyles of a normal family. I have to say that this was one of those times when you are terrified as well as in awh over the situation. I went to their house for lunch one day and watched how they cooked the food, and lets just say I knew for sure I would be sick for the next month. But I didn't want to offend them so I sucked it up and told myself it was worth it. The food was amazing, there had to be 5 dishes which were all cooked by the oldest daughter out of one wok on a wood fire stove. I went back for dinner the next night as well and feasted again, and still had no problem with my stomach. So after 4 days of hanging out with my new friends and taking in the sights I regretfully moved on moving north.

I decided to head to north to Nepal, which didn't turn out to be so easy. It took 2 full days of travel on every mode of transportation you can think of (and I mean EVERY). At last I made it to the border but that's another story



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Temple Walls Temple Walls
Temple Walls

Yes it is what you think it is..


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb