Short Update


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kozencherry
July 27th 2005
Published: July 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, there's not too much to report since my last update. I've decided to drop dance. It's making me feel exhausted all the time and it's so hot and the dance studio is outdoors. I think the biggest problem is that I'm having a hard time eating most of the non-carbohydrate foods, and so I just don't have the energy for dance in 90 degree weather for two hours a day. I've decided to take up woodcarving instead. Also, I discovered yesterday that my phone will never work in Kerala, and that I'd have to buy an Indian phone, which is too expensive (even though compared to the US it's dirt cheap). Apparently 90% of India works on 900 bandwitdth (which my phone has along with 850/1900), but Kerala and a few other select places work on 1800, which my phone does not have. So I'll just have to use an STD/ISD shop. These shops are everywhere in India and provide relatively cheap calls abroad on a land line. In other news, I have discovered that the three temple elephants live right behind my house, and you can see them through the coconut trees. I'm planning to go the village temple at somepoint (it's 1800 years old), but I want to wait until I get my sari blouses back (I took them to the tailor yesterday). Apparently wearing a sari greatly increases your chances of being let into the temple. Other than that, we had a really big storm last night, and tonight I have my first auyervedic massage. That's all the news for now. I'll let you know how the massage was in the next few days. Also, I'm planning to go to Cochi over the weekend to see the synagogue there (among other things). Don't worry, I'm going with Eddie, who runs a Whole Foods in the Bay Area, and Emilia, who used to run Spain's portion of the European Space Agency (they're both quite cool). I'll write again soon.

Advertisement



27th July 2005

Great Pictures
Great Pictures yesterday and I can't wait to see a few of you in Saris or with the temple elephants. Sorry about the dance. Are you still doing the yoga and the martial arts? Your group of fellow culturites sound quite cool. Send pictures of them too. Have fun and we love you very much. Dad and Karen

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb