Kovalam


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kovalam
January 18th 2010
Published: January 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This weekend we travelled about 7 hours by bus to a beach in kerala. I was blown away by how beautiful and picturesque it was. I was with all the other 30 odd volunteers and we had a really fun day playing volleyball and frisbee and sunbathing. We also hired some body boards which were really cheap ( about 1pound for the whole day). It was the best surfing I had ever done as the waves were mostly over 6 foot so we went really fast. I managed to avoid any sunburn but another english guy a met called Charles and a dutch boy got it really really bad all over. Charles is also on his gap year and from Guilford. We went for a walk round to the next cove and i took loads of photos. We had quite a good seafood meal then went to a little bar where they somehow had a live premiership game playing ( it was 11 at night). It was a really touristy area but not in a western way ( still no sight of any fast food yet) so there were hundreds of men walking up to you trying to sell everything from cashew nuts to bed sheets. But everything is just so cheap here and it's really hard to work out the value in pounds. I kind of think as rupees as being like monopoly money as it's common for a restaurant meal to equate to pence. There are about 73rupees to the pound and my normal bus journeys cost about 7 rupees and a mars bar is about 10.
I am writing this on my iPod in a bus that resembles a portable sauna. There is no air con and it's boiling and also cramped. We're about 2 hours in so only 5 hours left to go! I should be able to get this on the blog though tomorrow ( monday) will be busy as i start teaching English at the new school.

Hope everyone is well at home and miss you all
Love Joe
xx

Advertisement



19th January 2010

Ooops
Sorry for the delay everyone I thought I had been publishing my updates but i had been pressing a different button by accident!! luckily the website saves a copy of them anyway so i didn't lose any of it. Thinking of you all loads, Joe xx
19th January 2010

Hi Joe. So please you are having a wonderful time, it sounds out of this world. Don't worry I'm Keeping an eye on the oldies. Take care. Love Julie x
19th January 2010

Hi Joe
Hi Joe, your mum passed on your blog details to Gordon today so I have been reading your updates with great interest. What a fabulous opportunity for you, it sounds as if you are having an amazing time, you will hold on to this experience. I shall pass your address on to Harriet and Tom, who was the Langton girl?? Take care of yourself, you are doing a wonderful job, well done. The Purvis family

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb