Kanyakumari and Kovalam


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kovalam
April 23rd 2009
Published: April 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

KeralaKeralaKerala

Me and my friend
Well it's still hot and humid and you just gotta get used to it!
I have spent a week in Trivandrum learning the basics of Ayurveda and decided that may as well have consultation and treatments while I was there. It was a very "Indian" organised centre - quite small and intimate. Great food and I had an apartment on the roof to stay in. Once again I was the only Brit and as usual the oldest. The other girls were very friendly ..from Malaysia, Finland and France. so have been massaged daily, given all sorts of medicines and do feel more energised thought what I am taking is a mystery ! Also at the Centre was an Indian lady from Manchester so we had fun going out into town at night !! Went to the big temple that I wasn't allowed in as an infidel and wandered about just looking. We had a great day out to Kanyakumari which is where the 3 oceans meet at the very tip of India. Went to a palace and another temple which I was allowed in this time. You catch the ferry to a mausoleum of the Wandering Monk - Swami somebody- and
KeralaKeralaKerala

Me and my friend again
then another ferry to an enormous statue dedicated to the aspects of another famous swami - who can't remember! the ferry had to be seen to be believed. All the lifejackets were just all over the floor which no one wore but with big signs saying "Lifejackets must be worn". And it was packed to the seams! What fun!!
Have now come to Kovalam for a rest !
It is very end of seasonish, cloudy, humid and all the shop keepers desperate to make a little more money before the monsoon. I have a lovely view of the sea from my balcony and a friendly Danish lady next door. So am reading a lot interspersed with thinking about shopping as didn't manage this part last time I was here. I did a whole yoga class last night ( I was the only one so had personal tuition!) It was a bit like Bikram Yoga as so hot !! I have never sweated so much but am pleased to report that I can still do it (with a little help from the yoga man!) and my leg is much improved.

I don't love India as I thought I might as it frustrates me - that's the trouble with being a control freak!. The slowness and inefficiencies drive me mad and surrendering is not what I do best. But then I meet so me one who isn't trying to make money out of me and my faith is restored. One day I was walking to find breakfast and an old lady started to chat to me. She took me for breakfast and wouldn't let me pay. Also invited me to not only stay with her but visit. She does good works apparently. Sadly I didn't have time to meet her again but how nice she was.

Next few days will be devoted to sun worshipping !!


Advertisement



12th April 2010

Swami vivekananda...one of the famous orator and philosopher. His temple is situated in kanykumari.his Chicago speech is written in golden letters in history.

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb