The Beginning!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
January 22nd 2016
Published: January 22nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

So I've set off on my second adventure, as you can see by the title I’m going back to India. My mate Dave's coming with me this time so hopefully I can par some of the stress off onto him!. Unlike last time India isn't the final destination, Nepal, Bhutan?, Myanmar, Thailand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Philippines, Indonesia and Malaysia are all on the cards, budget dependant of course! Eventually me and Dave will go our separate ways with me going to Aus for a working holiday, and Dave either staying in Asia or going home....I guess it'll depend on how much the lady boys hit his pocket? Haha.



We've flown into Cochin, Kerela in the south to start the journey. This has mostly been planned around the fact we're in the area for Anoop's (friend from when I volunteered) wedding. There isn't really too much of a plan, just turn up and see what happens. We've got a few days to chill in Cochin before the wedding, so probably get to see the backwaters properly this time instead of being stingy and doing it on the cheap!

I might get the chance to see some of them that way, rather than spending the majority of my time trying to swat mozzys away from my ankles!.



I'll post regular updates about our trip, where we are, what we're up to etc. Hopefully I can manage to keep the swearing to a minimum, but we'll have to see how India treats us! I've heard the average time for a train to be late in India is 12 hours....12! So I’m sorry mum and dad, but if I have to wait 12 hours for a train, there'll probably be a few expletives.



First hiccup of the journey has already occurred, so it can only go uphill from here....I hope. After doing plenty of research, both online and with people who've been before, we were under the impression that as long as you had the funds to afford a return flight or flight leaving India, you wouldn't actually need the return booked. Obviously not having a flight out of there booked would've given us greater flexibility etc. So we arrive at Manchester airport, walk up to the checking desk. They're doing the usual checking bags and tickets, then “sir, do you have a return ticket?” I reply “no, we're going backpacking. We're leaving overland into Nepal when we get round to it...”. Turns out this wasn't sufficient, and the internet had lied to us! Can you believe that? Something on the internet wasn't correct! So we've had to book a flight from Delhi to Kathmandu for 7th April.



Just arrived at our guest house in Cochin. It's called Vedanta in the Fort Kochi area, we've paid a little more than we will be doing on the rest of the trip, but we've got hot water, A/C AND! A western toilet! No squatting for Heyes!.

We paid 1200rs from the airport to Cochin, with an A/C taxi! Easily the best way to get here.



On a side note, NEVER! Fly with Saudia. I didn't want to do this, but they've forced my hand! I'm also going to send an angry email and write a nasty review. The staff on the plane were good, the fight itself wasn't too bad, the food ok. However, when it finally came down to boarding the flight in Saudi to come to India, last minute the plane's apparently delayed. With no reason given and no updates for 2 hours! Absolute joke, just sat around waiting, it wouldn't have been so bad if we hadn't already been sat in a cramped terminal lounge for 6 hours! FUCK!. Silver lining though, there was TIM HOUGHTONS! Can't access the best hot chocolate in the world from the UK, go to Saudi and you're ballin'.





Bye for now! Keep your eye out for the next post to see what Kerela's like and some insight to an Indian wedding.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb