India - Kochi, Kerala


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
February 12th 2012
Published: February 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today we went for a long walk around Fort Cochin and Jew town. Mummy was hoping I would sleep a lot in my backpack, but there was just too much to look at!

First we went to the port area and saw lots of Chinese fishing nets, the men had caught loads of big fish, crabs and prawns. Many were still flapping about and looked so tasty, but it was a bit smelly! Then we saw the St Francis church, it's really old - 1503 built by the Portuguese. It looks ok from the outside, but was very plain inside. Next was the Santa Cruz Basilica. That was quite impressive, had lots of colours inside. After that we 'explored' the local town market where I got to have more bananas. It was nice there, we were the only tourists and much more 'real' India when the main area of Fort Cochin. I got to wave to lots of people and goats!

Finally we found our way to Jew Town. Here I saw the Dutch Palace (turned out to be a boring museum), Dutch cemetery and an old synagogue. That was the first synagogue that me and daddy have been to. I'd had enough sightseeing after that and there were too many tourists around so I finally fell asleep - just as mummy wanted to stop for lunch!

I woke up about an hour later in a tuk tuk back in Fort Cochin. We found a nice garden restaurant and had some lunch. There were lots of plants and strange fruit for me to touch.

After lunch we had a stroll a long the beach front. Daddy brought me some pineapple but it had masala powder on it, so I didn't want it! There were lots of birds to watch and children running into the water to collect shells and then running back when the waves came. It was very funny. One wave was so big that a little boys pile of shells got washed away! He was annoyed but everyone else thought it was funny.

On the way back to the guesthouse we stopped to watch an Indian football game. They weren't very good but I liked clapping when a goal was scored.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb