Kerala


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
October 8th 2011
Published: October 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Time has become a bit of a blur recently. We're in Kerala, which seems a world away from Chennai. Prac is really interesting. So far we have been visiting the services that Rajagiri provide which have some similarities and some differences to the services in Chennai.

I've had some thoughts recently:

Birkenstocks are the best thing that happened to my feet. I am a reformed critic and I recon you would be too if you tried them!

If that woman touches and hisses at me again I'm going to pull my hair out strand by strand.

Seeing a dead body is surreal and real all at once (we saw one after a social worker had to go to a funeral, not the first, but the first up close. Her eyes, mouth and ears were being stuffed with dettol soaked cotton wool)

When I read books, my inner monologue becomes the same as how the writer writes

Guava is an under-rated fruit, which is insanely delicious and not just with champagne

That's about as deep as my thoughts got!

On one of the visits that we went on, the same one that we attended the funeral, we were told that the previous night there was a huge snake in the yard, about 50-60kgs. I asked whether they like day and was told they don't and was further reassured when we were told they weren't poisonous...they would just strangle you then eat you!

I have spent this week in Fort Cochin and it has been bliss. It was an incredible mission to get back from a field visit. We were told that, yes this was our train, then no it wasn't our train and decided to not get on it, and of course, it was our train! We caught a bus instead which I don't think they could have fit another person in if they tried! I made it here in the end! I have done lots of walking, bike riding and eating of unprocessed food, which my body has been grateful for and even managed to book my ticket to Goa. Booking stuff here always stresses me out. I was additionally stressed out because as I had been withdrawing money from the ATM a man was banging on the door. As I walked out he said 'you took too long' and instead of saying something assertively brilliant I just said 'sorry' and looked down. I then spent the next half an hour thinking of brilliant things I should have said. This, I was sure, was the pre-cursor to a difficult Goa train booking experience. BUT all I had to do was queue and the lovely woman was so helpful, it was done within a flash! I walked out feeling glorious and empowered, so much so that I decided to go for a walk...and got very lost! So much so that I had to get an auto back to somewhere that I recognised!

Am catching up with a friend tonight then going to wash elephants tomorrow (yesss!). Then back to Rajagiri to decide which area I would like to work in.

Bye for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb