Mysore


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Mysore
April 15th 2006
Published: May 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Got to Mysore, really bad bus journey! Bus seemed to go over every pot hole in the road. Semi Deluxe bus was the description...I'd hate to see delux! Was sat bolt upright for 9 hours and the window kept sliding open...so uncomfortable and cold!

Arrived and managed to get myself to reasonable hotel in a big colonial style place....collapsed and fell asleep for the morning.

Eventually made it out to be confronted by loads of people offering me weed, as apparently it's legal in Mysore...one of the few places...although when I asked a few people about it, it ain't.

Wandered off to the market where the big thing on sale beside fruit and veg and the usual stainless steel pots and pans are the flowers and oils. The flower thing is wicked...my flower knowledge isn't that great...but the smells were awesome...mixed with the oils and spices....another Indian sensory overload. Headed over to the Palace after....couldn't take any photos, but as it was built only 100 years ago it had the kitch overstated, elaborate gaudiness off Indian and Victorian influence...with a bit of Muslim archways for good measure...loads of stained glass....still pretty cool.

Next day headed off to Chamundi Hill to see Temple, took the bus up and took the 900 steps down. Got to bottom and handy rickshaw driver took me back to town. Next headed off to Somnathpur for my fill of Hoysola architecture...temple here I come!

Temple carvings were so detailed, the intricate nature of the carvings and the amount of them...blow you away! Beside the carvings...highlight of trip was the venture out to the middle of nowhere, where the English is non exisitant....but you get by! Ended up travelling on the roof of the bus with the local lads as the bus was packed! Travelling India style...excellent...I've always wanted to do that!

Got a bit stranded at Somnathpur, no buses going back to the connecting town. The level of English speaking out in the sticks was pretty low, however after a few minutes of trying....the oldest chap in the village comes over and speaks to me in perfect English....apparently he used to work for the Government and was relishing the conversation. Thankfully he told me I could get a bus in either direction, just had to change buses in a different town...bit of a life saver as I'd let 3 buses go by going what I thought was the wrong way...and none had gone the other way for about an hour! As it was starting to get dark I thought I might have to crash in the village somewhere!

Got back to Mysore, picked up my bag and headed onto Hassan.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Mysore MarketMysore Market
Mysore Market

Flower sellers


Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb