A trek to India's highest waterfalls


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Jog Falls
April 12th 2008
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Trek: This trek was a real challenge!. I decided to go along the river leading up to the grand Jog Falls, India's highest. It was extremely humid and the mid day sun was unforgiving. I had to trek on mostly slippery rock and since this time I didn't bring a guide along with me I had to be extremely cautious on each step. There were some tricky parts and I had to make some leaps of faith, and I kept stopping to dry my clothes and socks as high humidity meant almost no evaporation. A trick I picked up on Man vs wild. There were interesting fish in the stream and the landscape was amazing, but the real reward was walking up to the edge of the falls at the end.
The Falls:The falls were spectacular, even though low rainfall meant low water volume their height made up for it. An evening overcast made the entire scene even more dramatic. It had taken me more than 20 hours of travel to get to the falls and it was worth it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

On my trekOn my trek
On my trek

sweating like hell.
TrekTrek
Trek

Getting close to the falls.
It beginsIt begins
It begins

The water picking up speed.
At the edge!At the edge!
At the edge!

This was freakin scary, esp since I'm afraid of heights.
The fallsThe falls
The falls

Stunning side view


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb