The most important issue facing India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Hampi
October 17th 2010
Published: October 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Be-heading a chickenBe-heading a chickenBe-heading a chicken

See previous post on my experience of being a special dinner guest. I am officially a non-meat eating person (while in India)
I sat next to a Indian businessman on the train back from Hampi. He owns a book publishing company in Chennai and was traveling from Goa to Hyderabad for a meeting. He also belongs to a organization that works to bring english schools to rural India. Interesting. He has approximately 7000 students, really a mear pinhead when considering the enormous explosion of children in this country. 1.2B people - insane. I think that I respect China's one child policy that was started 30yrs ago. Can you imagine where that country would be now?

This man was wise. He said that the most important issue facing India today is the disparity between the rich and the poor. Rurally people now have access to television so they see what they are missing. Ten years ago there was no TV so they didn't know what they were missing. He believes that this is causing a lot of restlessness amoung the people and what used to be a simple life, is no longer simple.

Made me ponder what do I think the most important issue facing India is.....humm...its pollution and the massive overuse of plastic bags and especially lately - disposable diaper and
A dead pigA dead pigA dead pig

A day of pig capture adjacent to the orphanage. These men (I guess the farmers) came and captured all the pigs who enjoyed the scraps from our meals. Thank god they're gone. This one is clearly dead. Some made it out just bound and squealing.
femine napkins. Don't laugh. As affluence rises, people can afford these conveniences (prior they used cloth for both) but now they want these conveniences. Unfortunately there is no proper garbage disposal in this country. The garbage here is...how should I say....overwhelming. I can't get used to it but like a lot of other things, I've learned to live with it. The problem is plastic. Somehow they have to contain this simple thing. I so respect the approach we are taking in Canada and the drive to use "green bags" for composte and reusable bags for groceries. Sweden has it figured out too.

Cultural Observation So many people don't wear shoes here. I am amazed even when I journey to the city of Hyderabad and see people walking barefoot. Even on the train in public washrooms. Gross.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

A view from my windowA view from my window
A view from my window

Garbage litters the landscape. There is nowhere to dispose of garbage. When not raining everything that can be burned (including plastic) is now it just accumulates.
getting de-licedgetting de-liced
getting de-liced

Yep I have lice - it's inevitable with 150 children.


25th October 2010

Happiness
Hello! One year ago, I wished hapinness to all the children and staff members. I wish hapiness again to all of them and also to you. I've just came back from a trip in Italy. So different from the stage in the home. I was not so comfortable in this way of life in material superabundance...In CHI, I lived an abundance of the heart. I hope you to feel so....I am very happy to read all your thinkings. Thank you to share it. Johanne sister.
29th October 2010
getting de-liced

UGH
Don't they have any lice shampoo?

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb