On the road to ruins


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Hampi
February 7th 2006
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

No change on the guts front, though I did look up "amoebic dysentery" on Google and it doesn't appear to be that. I decided to have another rest day, partly because it might help with the recovery and partly because there don't appear to be many major sights in Bangalore.

The overnight train to Hospet was truly enormous - probably the longest train I've seen yet in India. Unfortunately this also meant there were two 2AC cars. I didn't realise this at first, having only been on trains with one, so when I saw the first one I naturally assumed that it was mine. After climbing into the upper berth and doing all my preparations for sleep (remove contacts, set alarm, etc), the ticket inspector came round, took one look at my ticket, and told me I was in the wrong carriage. As I was climbing down from the bunk, I noticed a guy had been sitting quietly on the lower berth - he was the rightful occupant of my berth but had clearly been too intimidated by my friendly face to ask me to get out.

Unfortunately the other carriage, though ostensibly also 2AC, was significantly grottier, even down to the blankets looking as though they were second-hand. (Though I still wouldn't expect sympathy from the hundreds of people travelling in Sleeper class with no blankets at all.) To rub salt in the wound, there were two extremely loud snorers in my cabin, with the chap opposite me starting up within seconds of the train leaving the station and continuing unabated for many hours. Something at the back of my mind tells me that snorers have a lower life expectancy than non-snorers, but I didn't feel as though I could wake him up in order to tell him that. I put on my headphones and let some Europop accompany me to slumber.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb